See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 158 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The first room smells bad. i changed the room n it was all ok, free from the bad smell. one of the electronic code ddidn't work but i used the other one. Bad was not hard but quite ok. The door required strong push to be closed, so i was smashing the door all the time which would have annoyed next door. Water at the sink didn't come out smoothly sometimes. These small things need improvemen. A big downside is wifi doesn't work in the room n common area equipped with strong wifi closes at 11.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • Great location and decent room. I wish the counter had more site seeing options other than the bus tours which are quite expensive. I stayed in R6 where hot water was not there in the bathroom.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Mitaxi India
  • The location, price and common areas of the hostel are good. The person at the front desk had a proper behavior with us but I missed a smile and a warmer welcome.
  • 69%
  • 06 Jun 2015 ENRICO Chile
  • Staff was very helpful and patiently answered questions I'm sure they've heard hundreds of times already.
  • 86%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Susan USA
  • The room was good and the area was great because it is across from police. So Safe, yes. Our only issue which was unforeseen was that the hot water was turned off due to a hot water heater issue. Room was clean, people were nice and the common areas were well kept. The media area could be better because the printer wasn't working due to water damage.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Upon our first day arrival, the way that front desk agent talked is like a police officer! But, he does answered all the questions we asked, about airport shuttle bus and metro maps. We only stayed for 2 nights, the cleaning lady is really nice, she did a very good job, the restroom is actually very clean. However, the cleanliness of bed sheets are so so/ tolerance. I recommended to bring personal bed sheets, if you are particular with details alike me. overall, I think money we paid worth
  • 69%
  • 02 Jun 2015 XI China
  • I had single room. Everything was clean. Decent place if you need just place to stay overnight while exploring NY City.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Milada Czech Republic
  • Wonderful place. Better than any other place I've stayed in the city. The food was especially better than expected, and I wouldn't have survived this time of year without the window unit AC. That was a very pleasant bonus. In addition, the staff was always super cheerful, helpful, and pleasant. I did kill 2 roaches in the shared bath over the course of 12 days. But seeing ONLY two roaches (both tiny) is an impressive feat in old buildings in the city. Good thatmyou keep food out of the rooms!
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, booked last minutes so choice was limited. Despite mixed reviews I opted for this option. Initially had two nights booked, private room with en suite. Terrible first night's sleep due to a outer door constantly slamming. I had to chase reception three times to fix it. In all fairness, it was sorted and a slept well. I actually extended my stay for two more nights.
  • 74%
  • 25 May 2015 andy England
  • Would definitely stay again for my next visit. Paul
  • 94%
  • 24 May 2015 PAUL USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »