See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 213 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good experience! Nice hostel, the staff is professional. The location is central, it's easy to walk everywhere in Manhattan from the hostel. The breakfast is basic but included in the price. It can be noisy sometimes in the night or in the early morning in the back garden where there is an entrance to the common area, but I guess it's the same in all the hostels. The area is safe enough, I definitely recommend it to a girl travelling on her own.
  • 80%
  • 20 Nov 2013 Anonymous France
  • Locker was very small, can´t fit a midsize bag.
  • 80%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • No elevator and the third floor is too high for big luggage customer
  • 83%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Shang En Taiwan
  • I really enjoyed my stay at the Chelsea, terrific location, very short walking distance to two different subway lines and countless shops & restaurants. Free breakfast is great, kitchen is open til late & there is two huge fridges so you can keep your own food there. I stayed in a cottage for 6 nights, it was very clean and neat. I was there in November & even when it was freezing outside it was toasty warm indoors. Staff were super helpful, shuttle to airport was handy. Great value for money!
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Madelaine Australia
  • Everything was fine. Definitely nothing special, but the location is close to a lot.
  • 74%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Zach USA
  • Terrific location and terrific deal. Easy to get where I wanted to go. The room was great too. And a nice cup of coffee for breakfast with a bagel and a Big Apple! Loved it!
  • 97%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Although the room is small, but it got everything, good location and very nice staff!
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • This is no Hilton. This is no W Hotel, so if you're looking for that, go else where. This is a great hostel for someone backpacking or just need someone where to sleep. I spent most of my days out and about and only came back to sleep. It was a very great location - a block away from a few delis, places to eat, 7-Eleven and Starbucks.However, some tips to make the most out of your experience - bring your own towels, blankets and soap/toothpaste. Also, when checking in, you must have a passport
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Marie USA
  • The hostel was in a good location, few blocks from the metro line and walking distance from meatpacking district which is perfect for nightlife. The room was simple but clean.
  • 74%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Gabriella Italy
  • Really nice staff ! Other guests are also enthusiastic. The location is near to the subway station.
  • 94%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »