See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 92% from 42 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Chicago Getaway Hostel. Everything was great. My only complaint was the quality of the breakfast. After the first day, we ate elsewhere.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • great place to stay. would recommend to anyone. loved my time there
  • 100%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Bryce New Zealand
  • Great value in a good neighborhood.
  • 86%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Paul USA
  • one of my bunkmates was skyping until 2:30 a.m., which made it hard to fall asleep
  • 100%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Mark USA
  • The staff was very friendly and were willing to answer questions about nearby hot spots. Even before arriving I received an email with information about attractions in Chicago and the surrounding area. The place is very clean and there were plenty of options for things to do at the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Dianne USA
  • Loved meeting new people, was skeptical at first being in a dorm with 10 other girls but was actually not that bad. One complaint though would be the fact that it gets really stuffy and humid in the rooms and the air conditioner doesn't run that well. Overall I had a great time!
  • 80%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Natalie USA
  • Loved staying here, of all the hostels I've stayed in through North America so far, The Chicago Getaway Hostel has been by far the best.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2014 James Australia
  • The hostel was lovely and clean with a good atmosphere. The only thing is it is a little walk to downtown but the metro station is relatively close.
  • 80%
  • 30 May 2014 Emma Australia
  • It was a lovely experience, and the staff was terrific. My only ? was the pillows were lumpy...maybe time to change them out?
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time at Chicago getaway. Very clean, reasonable prices and great staff. My one suggestion is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The doors are not very sound proof (mine actually had a large space between the bottom of the door and the floor where light and sound came through) and tend to make a lot of noise when being opened or closed which makes it difficult to sleep late at night and early morning when people are coming and going.
  • 91%
  • 14 May 2014 kim USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »