See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 91% from 48 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was lovely--a bit far from the train but close to multiple bus lines via Clarke St. The staff was so, so cool! Everyone was super friendly and interested in making sure we got the most out of Chicago. Saturday night Pub Crawl was super fun. Pillows were a little flat and I wish there had been a private area to change after a shower but other than that, we were very satisfied and would say it was one of the best hostels either of us have ever stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean, safe, affordable, with excellent transportation options. I would be hard pressed to even consider making alternate overnight arrangements when I travel through or visit Chicago.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thank you so much for staying at the Getaway and for the review. We strive to be the best hostel in the US and your positive stay means the world to our staff. We can't wait to see you again in the future! Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 100%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Matthew USA
  • Great location; within minutes of Fullerton station (Red/Brown lines). The staff was friendly and helpful, and they also go on outings with the hostel guests at night. The kitchen was one of the best and most well organized I have ever seen (kudos!!). My only complaint was that the bed was awful. Also, rowdy guests tend to roam the halls at night - light sleepers: stay elsewhere.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thank you for staying at the Getaway. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and the events we take our guests on. The staff loves to mingle with guests and make a difference during their time in Chicago. We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Getaway Hostel was amazing. It fulfilled my expectations and so much more! Everything from the facilities to the staff was top-notch! Location was great. There were a lot of Blues bars and restaurants around and close to downtown. I h am already booking my next trip there!
    Owner Comment

    Hey there! Thank you for staying at the Getaway and for reviewing your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed Lincoln Park and our hostel. We hope you can stay with us again on a Monday and we'll rock out and Kingston Mines. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 97%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Julie USA
  • Great place ! Super clean + free breakfast + nice activities + wonderful atmosphere ! We highly recommend this hostel for a nice trip to Chicago.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thank you very much for staying at the Getaway Hostel. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed everything we offer our guests. It means the world to our staff to have our guest enjoy their stay. We can't wait to welcome you again and anybody you recommend. Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 97%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Anna Luise Germany
  • Good location, connects to city through buses and train system about 10 minutes from downtown. I stayed in a deluxe dorm and it turned out to be located in the basement with no phone reception! On the plus side, I enjoyed an ensuite bathroom with clean shower area and body products upon request. Relaxed atmosphere in the common areas, although certain areas felt less secure and the staff could be more helpful and friendly at times.
  • 74%
  • 19 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • IHSP was a great find! Definitely going back, and highly recommended. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, the hostel itself was incredibly welcoming and fun to stay in.
  • 100%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Erin USA
  • Exceeded my expectations. Remodeled in 2009. Free Breakfast is various Breads, Bagels, Muffins, Cereal, Fruit, Yugurt, Milk, etc. Less than two blocks from an upscale retail street.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, We are thrilled that you revisited the Getaway and enjoyed our improvements. We strive to be the best US hostel by offering many free amenities, events and clean accommodations. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • As with most people, safety, cleanliness and noise in the halls are potential issues when staying away from home in a strange place. I can happily say that the Getaway Hostel was in a great neighborhood near the CTA - the atmosphere was most welcoming - well-lit, spacious lobby with indie music all the time day or night, several computers set up with Internet, a kitchen you could cook in, breakfast if you got up early enough, TV, foosball. Great staff and prices, I mean what's not to like?
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Wow! Thank you very much for the great review. We are so happy to hear that we welcomed you to Chicago the right way. It is important for our guests to feel safe in our neighborhood and enjoy their experience without worry. We hope to see you again! Take care, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 100%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • My favorite hostel :)
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are stoked to be called your favorite hostel. We aim to become the best hostel in the US and are happy to hear we're on the right track. We look forward to another visit from you. Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Amadeusz Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »