See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 89% from 53 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • helpful staff, clean
  • 91%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Darryl Canada
  • It was disconcerting when we arrived and there was no electricity! We were taken in dark hallways and stairs to our room via flashlight and it was the wrong room, so back down and over we went. We left soon after to spend time in the city and when we returned in the evening all was well. Staff was understanding and accommodating. We would stay there again!! I'm 60 and my daughter is 28.
  • 80%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Patty USA
  • Only stayed for one night but was very impressed. Many amenities (free continental breakfast, wifi), location is safe and close to train, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Will definitely use again for any future trip to Chicago.
  • 97%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Lyndon Canada
  • Location is not ideal. Lincoln Park area is nice, lots of bars/restaurants, yet far from downtown. Beds are very shaky, door lockers make big noises when people come in/out, need a bit luck if want to get some nice sleep.
  • 74%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Big plus for entire , everything was OK, but in my opinion the bed wasn't very clean. Very nice atmosphere and staff. :) I recommend!
  • 91%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • The bathrooms are attached to the room, meaning you share ONE bathroom with up to seven other people. Try getting ready in the morning....
  • 71%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Laura USA
  • I booked a 4 man dorm for 3 nights. They told me I need to move my room for the last night. They didn't mentioned any detail related to changing my room. On the third day afternoon I came back from downtown and found I cannot enter into my room. They have already move all by baggage, clothes to a storeroom. Most unacceptable thing is they also cut off my lock on the wardrobe where I have most important laptop, credit card, passport in it. They finally moved me to a room worse than previous .
  • 54%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • Great location, ambiance, and clean facilities. Showers readily run hot water. The lobby has computers available for guests to use and plenty of outlets. Beds are comfortable and clean, though the bunk wobbles when someone rolls over. My 34L backpack fit inside the dorm lockers with about a foot of room on top to spare. It was easy to get to transit (10 min walk away), and walking around the neighborhood at night felt safe. Breakfast includes oatmeal, cereal, milk, coffee, and fruit.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel? I think the service and the whole place is the same as a good hotel. Very nice!! Thanks guys ;)
  • 100%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Jonathan Puerto Rico
  • Very nice hostel, in a nice area. Close to CTA Train (Red), Lincoln Park, and beaches. Bathroom very clean as well as bedroom (comfortable mattress). We had a private room with one large bed and one small. I highly recommend this hostel. The only one bad thing is that we paid online via hostels.com so we had a tax of $22,40 but if you pay online directly on Chicago Gateway Hostel, you do not have taxes. Breakfast: french small croissant, bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam, coffee, oatmeal, cereal
  • 86%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Benedicte France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »