See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 85% from 44 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Lovely hostel, could do with better wifi access in dorm rooms
  • 97%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • The location was good!! Only 10 min from the train station and a walking distance to the lincoln park!! Very quiet district. The staffs were so nice and we appreitiate for everything!! The free storage service was very helpful for us to leave our luggage on our last day after we checked out. We could go to the lincoln park without having to carry everything! The shared bathroom and kitchen was big and neat and the security system was reliable. Everything was better than we expected!!
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Eunjin South Korea
  • The hostel is OK. Private room facilities are a bit expensive and don't worth the money depending on the rate you get. For a little more you can stay in a propper hotel. For the shared rooms, possibly the experience brings more value to the money. Although the atmosphere is nice, it seems that the staff works in a very automatic and corporate way... My hostel experiences are usualy more personal and less "man machine". But I mean, it works...
  • 71%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Felipe Brazil
  • Perfect for anyone who doesn't plan on spending their Chicago vacation in their room. Beautiful, safe neighborhood with friendly staff and patrons making it a wonderful atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Bryanna USA
  • Great experience. 5 minutes walking distance from the train, very clean, fun people, good breakfast....It was exactly what I was looking for! I went on the pub crawl they offered on Saturday night. The bars were weird, but I met some great people and had a great night!
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • when checking in hey charged me 32.00 when I already paid 5 and change on y credit card,so which means I paid 37.00 for the bed. was a little disappointed in the stay this time being it was my 3rd time staying there. I might have to find a new hostel next time for a better value.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jun 2015 James USA
  • Informações em portugues. Albergue bem localizado, em região tranquila, próximo a bares, restaurantes, supermercados e transporte público. Próximo à cidade, via metrô, ônibus ou mesmo bicicletas, que podem ser locadas em vários lugares. Recomendo o sistema público DIVVY, que tem 3 estações próximas do albergue. Bom ambiente e staff atencioso, mas a limpeza de maneira geral deixa a desejar. Banheiros medianos. Dá pra ficar, sem muita sofisticação.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very good experience and hostel s area excellent, very nice streets around.Chicago the Elegant City
  • 91%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Anonymous France
  • The hostel was a great place to stay at while we were in town for SAMF the only downside was that our rooms were not ready at the time of our arrival and the staff seemed to be bothered when you needed help with anything.
  • 83%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Jennifer Puerto Rico
  • I am angry at myself because before checking in I never looked at the printout of my reservation. It clearly stated that I had a bed in a 4 bed dorm, but was put in a 10 bed dorm. I was too tired to argue with the staff. Then when I already checked out I realized I was overcharged by about 6 dollars. I had prepaid 10 percent , so the balance I owed was 52.80, but I was charged 58.20. because the numbers look similar, I am almost sure it was done on purpose. I should've looked at the printout.
  • 63%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Ramaz USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »