See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 91% from 28 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fabulous location, very helpful staff. Lots of problems with internet access over several days we were there. They rent bikes for $20/day (not 24 hours) on premises, but worth it to use the city's DIVVY system for $10 for 24 hours. Nice service to buy rapid transit tix at the front desk.
  • 91%
  • 03 Aug 2016 elizabeth USA
  • During Lollapalooza a random partier came back with some other people in our room however the staff was extremely accomodating getting us another bed for the night (at 3am when we got back) and it was dealt with the next day.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2016 Patrick USA
  • We paid 22 dolars for the Chicago Hostel Getaway as part of the 143 USD for 2 nights and when we get there we had an upgrade that we never ask for and had to paid 172 dolars + the 22 that we paid before, did not like the upgrade without any previous information.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jun 2016 Oscar Mexico
  • Good value for money. Clean hostel, free breakfast.
  • 71%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great front desk people, they are very nice and helpful I stayed in a 8 beds dorm and it even had a bathroom inside, so great. I would definitely stay here next time
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2016 kenny Venezuela
  • Gorgeous neighborhood and easy access to the El for O'Hare and major attractions. Great, clean facilities and events every night! While there are a lot of youth and international travelers, there's also families and older travelers which makes a nice, diverse group. The kitchen is incredible! Linens are provided and discount tickets for some attractions are also available. Perfect location, friendly staff, gorgeous facilities, great travelers. I will stay here when I visit Chicago again.
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, it was good but wi-fi is the worst in my room....
  • 86%
  • 10 May 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Best Hostel where I've ever stayed!! Really nice staff and great atmosphere!!
  • 100%
  • 12 Apr 2016 Pauliina Finland
  • Staying here has given me a peace of mind in a great environment after completing a stressful work week. I came here for vacation and I am so pleased I did. The atmosphere, staff and food was great! It was one of the best hostel thus far. Corasse
  • 97%
  • 26 Mar 2016 Yacub USA
  • My experiences staying here are so positive, I'm almost afraid to even try somewhere else. Any time a friend mentions they are traveling to Chicago and are looking for a place to stay, I always refer them here!
  • 100%
  • 19 Feb 2016 Matthew USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »