See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 86% from 47 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great experience. 5 minutes walking distance from the train, very clean, fun people, good breakfast....It was exactly what I was looking for! I went on the pub crawl they offered on Saturday night. The bars were weird, but I met some great people and had a great night!
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • when checking in hey charged me 32.00 when I already paid 5 and change on y credit card,so which means I paid 37.00 for the bed. was a little disappointed in the stay this time being it was my 3rd time staying there. I might have to find a new hostel next time for a better value.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jun 2015 James USA
  • Informações em portugues. Albergue bem localizado, em região tranquila, próximo a bares, restaurantes, supermercados e transporte público. Próximo à cidade, via metrô, ônibus ou mesmo bicicletas, que podem ser locadas em vários lugares. Recomendo o sistema público DIVVY, que tem 3 estações próximas do albergue. Bom ambiente e staff atencioso, mas a limpeza de maneira geral deixa a desejar. Banheiros medianos. Dá pra ficar, sem muita sofisticação.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very good experience and hostel s area excellent, very nice streets around.Chicago the Elegant City
  • 91%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Anonymous France
  • The hostel was a great place to stay at while we were in town for SAMF the only downside was that our rooms were not ready at the time of our arrival and the staff seemed to be bothered when you needed help with anything.
  • 83%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Jennifer Puerto Rico
  • I am angry at myself because before checking in I never looked at the printout of my reservation. It clearly stated that I had a bed in a 4 bed dorm, but was put in a 10 bed dorm. I was too tired to argue with the staff. Then when I already checked out I realized I was overcharged by about 6 dollars. I had prepaid 10 percent , so the balance I owed was 52.80, but I was charged 58.20. because the numbers look similar, I am almost sure it was done on purpose. I should've looked at the printout.
  • 63%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Ramaz USA
  • Had an excellent time at the Chicago Getaway Hostel, a very positive experience. We did 2 nights dorm and 2 nights private room. We were very close to Lincoln Park Zoo and the transit was close as well. Slept good. Neighbourhood very peaceful and safe. The breakfast was included and left us so full we were able to go till almost dinner time. The washrooms were less than perfect but really just fine. Will come again. Thanks
  • 97%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It's a hostel, so you have to be used to sharing bathrooms etc., and to having breakfast at a student cafeteria. Coffee was bad, there was no juice, but it was nice (bananas, oranges, bread, you get to make your own pancakes with syrup etc), and the best: it's included in the fees, which is rare in Chicago. Not very close to subway stations, but near Clark street, which has lots of restaurants, buses, shops, and where I watched Blue Man Group show.
  • 74%
  • 06 May 2015 Adriano Portugal
  • Was coll, but I was no so confortable in the neibgborhood.
  • 69%
  • 30 Apr 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This was a lovely hostel, well-maintained, clean, and the breakfast was phenomenal (hot waffles, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, tea, juice). It was very very busy though; I had to wait about 30 minutes to check in, and the staff seemed competent but overwhelmed. No doubt because it's such a nice hostel, though.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »