See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 89% from 45 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was a lovely hostel, well-maintained, clean, and the breakfast was phenomenal (hot waffles, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, tea, juice). It was very very busy though; I had to wait about 30 minutes to check in, and the staff seemed competent but overwhelmed. No doubt because it's such a nice hostel, though.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place overall, nice staff, beautiful location. Only, I thought the system in place for them holding your back before you check in or after you check out wasn't the best - people are escorted in and grab the bag they claim is theirs. Tags and tickets would be better, I think.
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Paulo Canada
  • Nice hostel
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Wei Hong Macau
  • Lovely location, nice quiet area. Short walk to subway. Staff were very very helpful and it was a secure building. The bedrooms and particularly the bathrooms coukd do with an update. Also to get to the showers on my floor you had to walk through the lobby and the bathroom didnt have space to get changed. The social area and the fact there were many computers to use was great though.
  • 89%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • The staff is great and extremely responsive to needs. The facility is clean and in great condition!
  • 100%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Matthew USA
  • Your breakdast was great. Keep it up Also, it is quiet at night. Keep it that way
  • 86%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Maybe have some food for lunch or dinner just besides breakfast.
  • 94%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Clarke American Samoa
  • Hostel is in a good location clean and staff are friendly and the breakfast was good - my only concern is that if you get a room downstairs the cleaning staff are very noisey when they come into work early in the morning which is a pain to be woken up that early especially if you have had a late night before
  • 74%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Howard John England
  • helpful staff, clean
  • 91%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Darryl Canada
  • It was disconcerting when we arrived and there was no electricity! We were taken in dark hallways and stairs to our room via flashlight and it was the wrong room, so back down and over we went. We left soon after to spend time in the city and when we returned in the evening all was well. Staff was understanding and accommodating. We would stay there again!! I'm 60 and my daughter is 28.
  • 80%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Patty USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »