See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 89% from 17 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel had more of a hotel feeling with key cards and modern furniture and decor. Though not in the Loop, the surrounding Lincoln Park neighbourhood had plenty of restaurants, bars, entertainment and shopping. It also had good access to the "L". Breakfast was good with a wide variety, though it tended to run out of food an hour before the posted end time for breakfast. Bathroom overall could be kept a little cleaner.
  • 83%
  • 09 Mar 2017 Anonymous Canada
  • Everything was great! would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 06 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • It was really a great hostel, the best one I have ever stayed, just like a real hotel. It was very clean and well-maintained with a perfect atmosphere. The common area was big and with everything you need. The kitchen has everything you need and the fridges were well-organized. It was in a super quite and safe neighborhood with easy access to buses. The only thing can be improved, if there is any, is the breakfast, which can have more things. But I wouldn't ask too much since it is free.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2016 Anonymous China
  • Fabulous location, very helpful staff. Lots of problems with internet access over several days we were there. They rent bikes for $20/day (not 24 hours) on premises, but worth it to use the city's DIVVY system for $10 for 24 hours. Nice service to buy rapid transit tix at the front desk.
  • 91%
  • 03 Aug 2016 elizabeth USA
  • During Lollapalooza a random partier came back with some other people in our room however the staff was extremely accomodating getting us another bed for the night (at 3am when we got back) and it was dealt with the next day.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2016 Patrick USA
  • We paid 22 dolars for the Chicago Hostel Getaway as part of the 143 USD for 2 nights and when we get there we had an upgrade that we never ask for and had to paid 172 dolars + the 22 that we paid before, did not like the upgrade without any previous information.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jun 2016 Oscar Mexico
  • Good value for money. Clean hostel, free breakfast.
  • 71%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great front desk people, they are very nice and helpful I stayed in a 8 beds dorm and it even had a bathroom inside, so great. I would definitely stay here next time
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2016 kenny Venezuela
  • Gorgeous neighborhood and easy access to the El for O'Hare and major attractions. Great, clean facilities and events every night! While there are a lot of youth and international travelers, there's also families and older travelers which makes a nice, diverse group. The kitchen is incredible! Linens are provided and discount tickets for some attractions are also available. Perfect location, friendly staff, gorgeous facilities, great travelers. I will stay here when I visit Chicago again.
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, it was good but wi-fi is the worst in my room....
  • 86%
  • 10 May 2016 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »