See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 91% from 47 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was very nice hostel! Clean, comfortable, with CTA line nearby and a great staff! You will like it too!
  • 97%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Gamar Azerbaijan
  • Kind of cool atmosphere, but this may depends on the guests. Otherwise the Hostel does a great job about cleanliness, helping the guests in any questions.
  • 91%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Marie Germany
  • Really great hostel. Very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast and ten mins walk to the tube line. A couple of great blues bars really nearby too.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jul 2013 Rose England
  • It was a nice stay at Getaway hostel. It is not located in the city center, yet very close to the Zoo, park and the beach, perfect for those who stay for longer and have enough time to explore this part of the city as well. The staff was very friendly and the overall atmosphere was really great. The only ciritique is that my dorm was a bit stuffy. However, I would stay at the hostel again.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jul 2013 Olga Ukraine
  • they offer many good trips in Chicago ,worth tring
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Feng China
  • It's nice they have a patio, and a piano in the common room. The staff seems to think of themselves as really cool, which does not appeal to me. And I think they could try a bit harder to be more environmentally friendly.
  • 83%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I really enjoyed my stay. However, I would prefer that hostel.com makes it perfectly clear BEFORE the booking that what is shown as balance might not be what you end up paying at check in.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Nedgie Haiti
  • I liked that many members of staff at this hostel went out of there way to provide extra information and advice about the city and how to get around. Breakfasts were good and the cleaning staff appear to work extremely hard. Overall I was very impressed. I didn't like the lack of privacy in the showers or that there are no transport maps available at the hostel. But neither of those things were that bad.
  • 89%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Laura England
  • Had a great time. Thanks!
  • 77%
  • 13 Jul 2013 Scott USA
  • If you are looking for something cheap and at the same time clean and well located, this is for you. I recommend it without hesitation. The soul and jazz bar close to the hostel, restaurants and museums makes it awesome
  • 91%
  • 08 Jul 2013 Guillermo Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »