See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 91% from 47 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved meeting new people, was skeptical at first being in a dorm with 10 other girls but was actually not that bad. One complaint though would be the fact that it gets really stuffy and humid in the rooms and the air conditioner doesn't run that well. Overall I had a great time!
  • 80%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Natalie USA
  • Loved staying here, of all the hostels I've stayed in through North America so far, The Chicago Getaway Hostel has been by far the best.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2014 James Australia
  • The hostel was lovely and clean with a good atmosphere. The only thing is it is a little walk to downtown but the metro station is relatively close.
  • 80%
  • 30 May 2014 Emma Australia
  • It was a lovely experience, and the staff was terrific. My only ? was the pillows were lumpy...maybe time to change them out?
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time at Chicago getaway. Very clean, reasonable prices and great staff. My one suggestion is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The doors are not very sound proof (mine actually had a large space between the bottom of the door and the floor where light and sound came through) and tend to make a lot of noise when being opened or closed which makes it difficult to sleep late at night and early morning when people are coming and going.
  • 91%
  • 14 May 2014 kim USA
  • Can Improve the breakfats, butall of the rest is amazing
  • 97%
  • 02 May 2014 Sammuel Brazil
  • Great job'' keep up good work!!!
  • 97%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here for 2 days last weekend.. Great hostel,best in Chicago, clean, close to downtown,good free breakfast,helpful staff especially lovely Audry--I would definitely come back again
  • 86%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostel I've ever stayed.
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Hostel was lovely--a bit far from the train but close to multiple bus lines via Clarke St. The staff was so, so cool! Everyone was super friendly and interested in making sure we got the most out of Chicago. Saturday night Pub Crawl was super fun. Pillows were a little flat and I wish there had been a private area to change after a shower but other than that, we were very satisfied and would say it was one of the best hostels either of us have ever stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »