See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 89% from 50 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved staying here, of all the hostels I've stayed in through North America so far, The Chicago Getaway Hostel has been by far the best.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2014 James Australia
  • The hostel was lovely and clean with a good atmosphere. The only thing is it is a little walk to downtown but the metro station is relatively close.
  • 80%
  • 30 May 2014 Emma Australia
  • It was a lovely experience, and the staff was terrific. My only ? was the pillows were lumpy...maybe time to change them out?
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time at Chicago getaway. Very clean, reasonable prices and great staff. My one suggestion is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The doors are not very sound proof (mine actually had a large space between the bottom of the door and the floor where light and sound came through) and tend to make a lot of noise when being opened or closed which makes it difficult to sleep late at night and early morning when people are coming and going.
  • 91%
  • 14 May 2014 kim USA
  • Can Improve the breakfats, butall of the rest is amazing
  • 97%
  • 02 May 2014 Sammuel Brazil
  • Great job'' keep up good work!!!
  • 97%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here for 2 days last weekend.. Great hostel,best in Chicago, clean, close to downtown,good free breakfast,helpful staff especially lovely Audry--I would definitely come back again
  • 86%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostel I've ever stayed.
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Hostel was lovely--a bit far from the train but close to multiple bus lines via Clarke St. The staff was so, so cool! Everyone was super friendly and interested in making sure we got the most out of Chicago. Saturday night Pub Crawl was super fun. Pillows were a little flat and I wish there had been a private area to change after a shower but other than that, we were very satisfied and would say it was one of the best hostels either of us have ever stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »