See other Chicago properties

Chicago Getaway Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.5km

Rating: 89% from 51 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a lovely experience, and the staff was terrific. My only ? was the pillows were lumpy...maybe time to change them out?
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time at Chicago getaway. Very clean, reasonable prices and great staff. My one suggestion is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The doors are not very sound proof (mine actually had a large space between the bottom of the door and the floor where light and sound came through) and tend to make a lot of noise when being opened or closed which makes it difficult to sleep late at night and early morning when people are coming and going.
  • 91%
  • 14 May 2014 kim USA
  • Can Improve the breakfats, butall of the rest is amazing
  • 97%
  • 02 May 2014 Sammuel Brazil
  • Great job'' keep up good work!!!
  • 97%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here for 2 days last weekend.. Great hostel,best in Chicago, clean, close to downtown,good free breakfast,helpful staff especially lovely Audry--I would definitely come back again
  • 86%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostel I've ever stayed.
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Hostel was lovely--a bit far from the train but close to multiple bus lines via Clarke St. The staff was so, so cool! Everyone was super friendly and interested in making sure we got the most out of Chicago. Saturday night Pub Crawl was super fun. Pillows were a little flat and I wish there had been a private area to change after a shower but other than that, we were very satisfied and would say it was one of the best hostels either of us have ever stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean, safe, affordable, with excellent transportation options. I would be hard pressed to even consider making alternate overnight arrangements when I travel through or visit Chicago.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thank you so much for staying at the Getaway and for the review. We strive to be the best hostel in the US and your positive stay means the world to our staff. We can't wait to see you again in the future! Safe travels, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 100%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Matthew USA
  • Great location; within minutes of Fullerton station (Red/Brown lines). The staff was friendly and helpful, and they also go on outings with the hostel guests at night. The kitchen was one of the best and most well organized I have ever seen (kudos!!). My only complaint was that the bed was awful. Also, rowdy guests tend to roam the halls at night - light sleepers: stay elsewhere.
    Owner Comment

    Hello, Thank you for staying at the Getaway. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and the events we take our guests on. The staff loves to mingle with guests and make a difference during their time in Chicago. We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, Jason Schultz General Manager

  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »