See other Jerusalem properties

Citadel Youth Hostel

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 76% from 31 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was really great, the hostel looks also very nice but the conditions there are bad. Rooms are too small for so many beds, there is even no place to stay in some rooms and the bathrooms are dirty and very old, some doors can not be closed, no warm water and it stinks.
  • 63%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Grzegorz Poland
  • The bathrooms are too small and not always superclean. It would be nice to have access to the internet from all the rooms.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Jan Germany
  • Your hostel is very nice and atmospheric. It is situated in an excellent location. We were in room nr. 5 and it was very beautiful and magic :) Thank you for your hostel, I am sure, I will return there :)
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Robert Czech Republic
  • It was all good til they gave me a pillow the last night that gave me lice
  • 63%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anna USA
  • The hostel was perfect. Do not give your passport to the staff, keep it in your hands while showing it to the staff. our passports have been demaged, because the receptionist hammered a stapler through the front of our passports!
  • 83%
  • 30 May 2014 Bjørn Switzerland
  • My single room was tiny. The rooftop terrace is fantastic.
  • 80%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Location is amazing, undeniable. Wifi and cellular reception is the worst thing, only the main very small uncomfortable lobby has wifi. Washrooms and showers aren't the cleanest. Beds are ok, sleeping on the roof seems pretty bad (noise, dirty, cold, very crowded). Definitely worth it if you are only looking for a place to sleep and visit Jerusalem.
  • 66%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very good hostel, great location, great view from the roof, sleeping on the rooftop place was without problems
  • 83%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Alexandra Czech Republic
  • Reception person is at front desk 24 hr. Door locked at night but can knock or use code. Very clean, great atmosphere in cave like rooms. There are multiple levels & areas. Multiple clean bathrooms. Same day laundry service. Great location on quieter side street in safe part of the Old Town. You can use a few routes if you want to avoid the market. Rooftop option was cool (mattress & blanket provided), nights were very cold in April. I didn't care for all the posted propaganda.
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Elissa USA
  • We had a private room on the top floor, which was just gorgeous! There is a sink in the room (although I do not think that is the case in the shared rooms) and communal bathrooms. They were quite small with toilets, sinks, and hand-held shower sprays that often resulted in soaked roles of toilet paper and a musty smell. Perfectly sufficient for backpackers and good value for the money.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Marian USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »