See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 72% from 53 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was the best hostel I have stayed in so far. The staff was super helpful, and the location was amazing. It is right in the center of the old city, and there are so many cute restaurants, shops, and cafés nearby. It is also a close walk to the train station and the nightlife area. We literally could walk anywhere in the city from here. Everything was extremely clean and there was never a wait for the bathroom. We did have to walk up 5 flights of stairs with our luggage, but it was worth it.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Tiffany USA
  • Positives: wonderful location, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff. Cons: my room smelled, amount of stairs to climb to reach reception, small common room, my wifi didn't work the first night in the lobby. Overall, it did its job, but for that price I expected more.
  • 66%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • hmmm A little torn on the rating. The price was outrageous compared to most hostels however it was the cheapest one in Zurich.
  • 54%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Basically it sucks! But it's in the ver center.
  • 46%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Alexandru Italy
  • It's at a great location, which is always a plus. The facilities are average at best. Showers stalls are narrow and wifi is only available at the tiny common area. No much to complain about. It just feels that with that kind of money, you can probably find a better place.
  • 66%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • the fourth floor is really the sixth floor. Climb, climb climb!
  • 57%
  • 27 Oct 2014 David Canada
  • The location is very good. But that is almost all. The hostel is expensive, but hey, it's Switzerland. But to pay 34 euro for a bed and than if you arrive finding out that you have to pay 4 frank extra for sheeds isn't so nice. They say they have wifi but it's only in the very small room next to the reception. The computer that is there you have to pay for. Tea you have to pay for, coffee too. Is an ok hostel but they will do nothing for free. What makes it not so friendly. I didn't like it much
  • 46%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • No Wifi connection in rooms..... Rooms super small and unclean. (I have experienced great places and with much cleanliness )
  • 37%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • The atmosphere and people were excellent. And the roof top patio was a wonderful place to hangout. The showers were a little gross, remember your flip flops, and there wasn't anywhere to hang clothes/towel. The location was by far the best aspect of the hostel, right in the old town. I would stay here again.
  • 77%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Julia Canada
  • Great place in Zurich for its price and location, nothing comparable in this part of city! The only two bad points be marked, are: - central street, Niederdorfstrasse, is an extremely noisy place 24 h per day! For sleep it's nesessary to close all windows for the night( - products often disappear from the fridge :( maybe especially because hostel's staff marked everywhere "do not do this"?
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Alexey Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »