See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 74% from 52 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 65%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Generally a good place to be but I was astonished to see how the cuisine is very poorly equipped. And no breakfast is served. So for the 34 CHF I payd for a 8 bed mixed dorm I would say that it's quiet not worth it.
  • 66%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Many flights of stairs to walk up, not too easy to locate as it has a side entrance, wifi only in the common area which is rather small and feels cramped, for the dorms it's mandatory to take linen which u have to pay for. Not recommended for those with big heavy suitcases or people that don't like climbing up stairs
  • 63%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Darleena Malaysia
  • The hostel is really good, the only problem is that internet is only available in the common area and there are no elevators so you have to drag your luggage up on three floors
  • 86%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • A littld bit difficult to find ( the sign was high up) and lots of stairs ro reach the reception area. Cool place! But I couldn't connext to the wifi and the pc they have there ( you need to pay) is ancient!! Practices the patience!
  • 77%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • A fun hostel right where all the action is. We had a private room, so I have no idea how dorms were, but our room was clean and the beds were comfy. Some noise during the night, of course, due to the location. A lot of stairs, so not a good choice if you have problems with walking. They do not have anywhere to store your bag before/after you have checked in and the common room is tiny, this might be good to know. Free wifi worked on and off, but all in all ok.
  • 83%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Really really nice staff- so friendly and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Big money for a so tiny room...
  • 77%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Stephanie Canada
  • I had an excellent stay! The staff was very helpful and the location was perfect!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Christine USA
  • Great place, hot at night.
  • 80%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • the worst thing of this hostel is that it is without any elevator, and we need to go up at least 3 or 4 floors to get in the reception with all our luggages, which is super inconvenient. And the place is really small and doesn't look good. The washroom is shared between girls and boys which i found it extremely gross and not comfortable. Luckily we are only staying for one nights, carrying down the luggages is another disaster. I would not stay in this hostel if i have another choice!
  • 43%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Hui Ling Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »