See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 72% from 51 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's at a great location, which is always a plus. The facilities are average at best. Showers stalls are narrow and wifi is only available at the tiny common area. No much to complain about. It just feels that with that kind of money, you can probably find a better place.
  • 66%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • the fourth floor is really the sixth floor. Climb, climb climb!
  • 57%
  • 27 Oct 2014 David Canada
  • The location is very good. But that is almost all. The hostel is expensive, but hey, it's Switzerland. But to pay 34 euro for a bed and than if you arrive finding out that you have to pay 4 frank extra for sheeds isn't so nice. They say they have wifi but it's only in the very small room next to the reception. The computer that is there you have to pay for. Tea you have to pay for, coffee too. Is an ok hostel but they will do nothing for free. What makes it not so friendly. I didn't like it much
  • 46%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • No Wifi connection in rooms..... Rooms super small and unclean. (I have experienced great places and with much cleanliness )
  • 37%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • The atmosphere and people were excellent. And the roof top patio was a wonderful place to hangout. The showers were a little gross, remember your flip flops, and there wasn't anywhere to hang clothes/towel. The location was by far the best aspect of the hostel, right in the old town. I would stay here again.
  • 77%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Julia Canada
  • Great place in Zurich for its price and location, nothing comparable in this part of city! The only two bad points be marked, are: - central street, Niederdorfstrasse, is an extremely noisy place 24 h per day! For sleep it's nesessary to close all windows for the night( - products often disappear from the fridge :( maybe especially because hostel's staff marked everywhere "do not do this"?
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Alexey Russia
  • Generally a good place to be but I was astonished to see how the cuisine is very poorly equipped. And no breakfast is served. So for the 34 CHF I payd for a 8 bed mixed dorm I would say that it's quiet not worth it.
  • 66%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Many flights of stairs to walk up, not too easy to locate as it has a side entrance, wifi only in the common area which is rather small and feels cramped, for the dorms it's mandatory to take linen which u have to pay for. Not recommended for those with big heavy suitcases or people that don't like climbing up stairs
  • 63%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Darleena Malaysia
  • The hostel is really good, the only problem is that internet is only available in the common area and there are no elevators so you have to drag your luggage up on three floors
  • 86%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • A littld bit difficult to find ( the sign was high up) and lots of stairs ro reach the reception area. Cool place! But I couldn't connext to the wifi and the pc they have there ( you need to pay) is ancient!! Practices the patience!
  • 77%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »