See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 74% from 46 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 65%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Big money for a so tiny room...
  • 77%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Stephanie Canada
  • I had an excellent stay! The staff was very helpful and the location was perfect!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Christine USA
  • Great place, hot at night.
  • 80%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • the worst thing of this hostel is that it is without any elevator, and we need to go up at least 3 or 4 floors to get in the reception with all our luggages, which is super inconvenient. And the place is really small and doesn't look good. The washroom is shared between girls and boys which i found it extremely gross and not comfortable. Luckily we are only staying for one nights, carrying down the luggages is another disaster. I would not stay in this hostel if i have another choice!
  • 43%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Hui Ling Hong Kong
  • The location of this place is fantastic. Lots of night life around here and a great launch point to see the rest of Zurich. We had a double room, which apparently includes bed linens. Shared bathroom for the floor, sink in the room. To get to reception from the ground floor you have to go up a ridiculous 4 flights of steep stairs, but it's no bother; just makes you feel like you've wandered into Diagon Alley. Excellent rooftop deck.
  • 80%
  • 28 May 2014 Luke USA
  • I have nothing bad to say about this hostel. The owner of this hostel was very nice and explained everything clearly. I felt safe and the location was prime. Of course, like in every other popular hostel, it can get noisy. However, that is to be expected with many people and on the weekend.
  • 97%
  • 13 May 2014 Katherine USA
  • Very service minded staff. Location in the middle of Old town with everything close. There is wireless and a kitchen at each floor. Also a nice roof terrace for nice days. Only problem is that the reception is closed between 12 and 3PM.
  • 83%
  • 11 May 2014 Susanna Sweden
  • We pay a lot of money and we still have to pay extra for linen and do our bed when arrive and when leave. We had to go 6 floors by stairs to sleep and the wifi only worked 2 floors down. Few plugs on the room. The only good thing was the kitchen but the oven on our floor was broken.
  • 37%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very nice hostel location. The most central place you can get a hostel in. The staff is very friendly and nice too. Another benefit is a small nice kitchen on each floor so you can make your food too if you want.
  • 89%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous India
  • ++ Friendly staffs, excellent location (3 stations from hbf by tram, 15min walk), two shower rooms and (mixed) toilets on every floor, water boilers and microwave oven included. - - Have to pay for the beddings for 3 CHF per night; the reception closes in the midday. I lived in a 6-person room, which is very small. No reading light for individuals in bed, the storage box is very small. But I cannot ask for too much, this is Zurich!
  • 66%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »