See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 71% from 50 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 60%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Clean, centrally located, easy to find. No elevator so suitcases have to be taken up to the 3rd floor.
  • 91%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous Lithuania
  • Great location, very easy to get to from Central Zurich train station and the staff are very helpful. However, there are no lifts and its 3 levels of stairs before you get to reception. The booking system can be improved as I was advised there's no vacancy for female dorms, only mixed dorms available, yet a girl I met told me she booked for mixed dorm with her partner and was given the female dorm.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • The shower pressure and lighting was great. Although you only have 2 showers for an entire hallway of people, I never had an issue with not being able to take a shower when I wanted. This was though, the smallest hostel I have ever been in. Be prepared for a hike up stairs to get to the reception. The staff was excellent.
  • 94%
  • 26 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I asked the female staff to help me with my luggage because there was no elevator and my luggage was heavy. She said No without a second thought. Later I asked her again snd she helped with an unhappy face and said "I have never helped guests with their luggage" What is that supposed to mean? I have been travelling for 50 days and she was the meanest staff I have ever met.The room was not cleaned. The staff just removed the old sheet.I paied more than others because i booked thr. Hostel.com
  • 46%
  • 14 May 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Nice staff and nice respectful people staying. The rooms were quiet and I slept very well. Witch was what I wanted. location was perfect and the stairs gave me a good exercise every time.
  • 80%
  • 11 May 2015 Barbara Denmark
  • Probably never going to be excited about paying $50 to stay in a dorm, but that's Switzerland. Decent hostel all around.
  • 83%
  • 09 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The stay was short and good, I like the reception girl, she is lovely
  • 63%
  • 01 May 2015 Mohamed Nabil
  • WiFi was pretty good, I was prepared for it to not work well. The narrow hallways and tiny lounge, felt a little clausterphobic, maybe me want to stay more in my room. It needs a little more casual, spacey common space, sprinkled throughout the hostel. Also, I would rather do my own laundry. Overall, the location is awesome, staff was very friendly, and I would recommend it.
  • 77%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Kanishka USA
  • There were so many stairs, but It's okay. Other things were very nice!
  • 77%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • This was the best hostel I have stayed in so far. The staff was super helpful, and the location was amazing. It is right in the center of the old city, and there are so many cute restaurants, shops, and cafés nearby. It is also a close walk to the train station and the nightlife area. We literally could walk anywhere in the city from here. Everything was extremely clean and there was never a wait for the bathroom. We did have to walk up 5 flights of stairs with our luggage, but it was worth it.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Tiffany USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »