See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 72% from 52 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 61%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A fun hostel right where all the action is. We had a private room, so I have no idea how dorms were, but our room was clean and the beds were comfy. Some noise during the night, of course, due to the location. A lot of stairs, so not a good choice if you have problems with walking. They do not have anywhere to store your bag before/after you have checked in and the common room is tiny, this might be good to know. Free wifi worked on and off, but all in all ok.
  • 83%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Really really nice staff- so friendly and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Big money for a so tiny room...
  • 77%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Stephanie Canada
  • I had an excellent stay! The staff was very helpful and the location was perfect!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Christine USA
  • Great place, hot at night.
  • 80%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • the worst thing of this hostel is that it is without any elevator, and we need to go up at least 3 or 4 floors to get in the reception with all our luggages, which is super inconvenient. And the place is really small and doesn't look good. The washroom is shared between girls and boys which i found it extremely gross and not comfortable. Luckily we are only staying for one nights, carrying down the luggages is another disaster. I would not stay in this hostel if i have another choice!
  • 43%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Hui Ling Hong Kong
  • The location of this place is fantastic. Lots of night life around here and a great launch point to see the rest of Zurich. We had a double room, which apparently includes bed linens. Shared bathroom for the floor, sink in the room. To get to reception from the ground floor you have to go up a ridiculous 4 flights of steep stairs, but it's no bother; just makes you feel like you've wandered into Diagon Alley. Excellent rooftop deck.
  • 80%
  • 28 May 2014 Luke USA
  • I have nothing bad to say about this hostel. The owner of this hostel was very nice and explained everything clearly. I felt safe and the location was prime. Of course, like in every other popular hostel, it can get noisy. However, that is to be expected with many people and on the weekend.
  • 97%
  • 13 May 2014 Katherine USA
  • Very service minded staff. Location in the middle of Old town with everything close. There is wireless and a kitchen at each floor. Also a nice roof terrace for nice days. Only problem is that the reception is closed between 12 and 3PM.
  • 83%
  • 11 May 2014 Susanna Sweden
  • We pay a lot of money and we still have to pay extra for linen and do our bed when arrive and when leave. We had to go 6 floors by stairs to sleep and the wifi only worked 2 floors down. Few plugs on the room. The only good thing was the kitchen but the oven on our floor was broken.
  • 37%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »