See other Zurich properties

City Backpacker - Hostel Biber

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 73% from 41 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice staff and nice respectful people staying. The rooms were quiet and I slept very well. Witch was what I wanted. location was perfect and the stairs gave me a good exercise every time.
  • 80%
  • 11 May 2015 Barbara Denmark
  • Probably never going to be excited about paying $50 to stay in a dorm, but that's Switzerland. Decent hostel all around.
  • 83%
  • 09 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The stay was short and good, I like the reception girl, she is lovely
  • 63%
  • 01 May 2015 Mohamed Nabil
  • WiFi was pretty good, I was prepared for it to not work well. The narrow hallways and tiny lounge, felt a little clausterphobic, maybe me want to stay more in my room. It needs a little more casual, spacey common space, sprinkled throughout the hostel. Also, I would rather do my own laundry. Overall, the location is awesome, staff was very friendly, and I would recommend it.
  • 77%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Kanishka USA
  • There were so many stairs, but It's okay. Other things were very nice!
  • 77%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • This was the best hostel I have stayed in so far. The staff was super helpful, and the location was amazing. It is right in the center of the old city, and there are so many cute restaurants, shops, and cafés nearby. It is also a close walk to the train station and the nightlife area. We literally could walk anywhere in the city from here. Everything was extremely clean and there was never a wait for the bathroom. We did have to walk up 5 flights of stairs with our luggage, but it was worth it.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Tiffany USA
  • Positives: wonderful location, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff. Cons: my room smelled, amount of stairs to climb to reach reception, small common room, my wifi didn't work the first night in the lobby. Overall, it did its job, but for that price I expected more.
  • 66%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • hmmm A little torn on the rating. The price was outrageous compared to most hostels however it was the cheapest one in Zurich.
  • 54%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Basically it sucks! But it's in the ver center.
  • 46%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Alexandru Italy
  • Probably the only hostel in Zurich. Very old, lack facilities & amenities. Only 1 electrical port for charging your phone in the room of 6 people. The staff were very nice, though.
  • 57%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »