See other Stockholm properties

City Backpackers Hostel

Upplandsgatan 2a, 11123, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 89% from 57 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly..........
  • 80%
  • 15 Sep 2016 Manuel
  • Great Location. Only 10 minutes from the Central Station walk.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for the top ratings! Hope you had a wondeful time with us. We hope you will visit us again soon! Happy travels, Charmaine CBP

  • 100%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Alexander Canada
  • Has changed a lot since last I stayed here in '08, and not for the better! The security is way over the top with multiple codes for multiple doors that change every 24hrs. The staff was friendly, but very understaffed!! Our reservation was messed up when we arrived and ended up being placed in an 8 bed dorm instead of the 6 we booked.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your honest feedback. We are sorry for the misplacering of room types.This usually does not happen. As I recall we compensated you by giving you a refund so hopefully this helped to make up for the mistake.The security is for guests safety, which we received good feedback from previous guests so this is why we have continued to use this method for many years. I can understand this must be a new for you, but it's to keep unwanted guests out of the hostel and protect your belongings. Hope you can understand it's for your benefit. Kindly Charmaine CBP

  • 80%
  • 30 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good location, good staff, not a very social crowd when I was there but still had fun. I stayed in the 8 bed female dorm. The door to the bathroom if not held onto the entire time while being closed after leaving slams and wakes you up, all night. Would be nice if they had this fixed. There was also not soap in the bathroom... don't stay here if you have back pain. I had never had back pain before sleeping in this bed.Overall, spacious, pretty clean, and good location, everything you need.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your valuable feedback. Sorry to hear that you had problems with yor room. Did you come to reception to let one of the staff know? I wish you did, because we could of tried to solve the problems immediately. But thanks for letting us know now, we appreciate it. I have noted the problems and we will look into these immediately. Hope you still had a fun time being here and enjoyed Stockholm. Welcome to visit us again and hopefully we can meet up to your expectations next time round. Cheers Charmaine CBP

  • 91%
  • 22 Jul 2016 Stacey USA
  • This was my first experience booking a hostel on my own and everything went smoothly. The only recommendation I have is to have smaller holes on the salt shaker, I ended up with a little to much salt on my (free!) pasta. Maybe I should be more careful next time.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your review and choosing us as your first hostel experience, we are honoured. We will look into our salt shaker., thanks for the tips. Welcome back anytime! Enjoy the rest of your adventures! All the best, Charmaine CBP

  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The best thing You can do when coming to Stocholm is to book at City Backpackers Hostel!!! The location is just perfect!!!! but that's not all! The enterior is the coolest place I've ever been, the staff is amazing and helpful, even the guests are cool!!! I strongly recomend it, especially to the "girl who is traveling alone and wondering how she'll make it"!! Security is at highest standards!!! Not to mention all the facilities they provide!! just perfect!!Definitelly coming back here !!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for the awesome review! We really appreciate the feedback and glad to hear that you had an amazing experience here. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Always welcome. We wish you a great summer! Charmaine CBP

  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2016 Anonymous Macedonia
  • Nice place, nice people, extra for the linen.
    Owner Comment

    Many thanks for the nice comments. Hope you had a wonderful time in Stockholm. Welcome back anytime! Cheers Charmaine CBP

  • 89%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Anonymous Colombia
  • Great hostel. Would recommend to everyone visiting Stockholm. The only issue I faced was there was no room for privacy. Even if I wanted to take a call or video chat with someone there wasn't one silent place. There are people everywhere and so much noise all the time.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review. Sorry that you had privacy problems. I recommend next time to book a private room instead of a 12 bed dormitory. This way, you are guaranteed to get privacy. All the best, Charmaine CBP

  • 77%
  • 15 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great location and easy to find from the train station. Good common areas with ample outlets for devices. The security was excellent as the codes changed everyday to open the doors.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks heaps for your feeback. Glad you liked the security and understood the reasons why we have many codes for the safety of guests. Hope you will visit us again someday. Always welcome! Cheers Charmaine CBP

  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • We had a good stay and were happy with the place :)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the great feedback! Welcome back anytime! All the best! Charmaine CBP

  • 83%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Robin
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »