See other Shanghai properties

City Central International Hostel

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 85% from 23 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was a little difficult to find because of the directions given by the staff. I think they should have a better understanding of the location to explain to their guests. Also some of the staff did not seem very amicable to us. Overall it was a positive experience.
  • 80%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous Sri Lanka
  • Excellent helpful staff and nice warm room
  • 91%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous England
  • Rude reception staff, lobby smells like bathroom
  • 83%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Alan USA
  • Very nice hotel.
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous France
  • 27yr old Female from USA - Very good hostel, people are very friendly and super helpful - clean sheets. The community bathrooms looked clean but individual bathrooms were OKAY. Only complaint was from individual bathrooms, the tile was moldy - the kind that is easily scrubbed off...Also, the drain in the shower would start draining after like 5 mins of showering, so standing in moldy water for me taking a shower isn't ideal, especially b/c i've had a foot fungus from a hostel before - ew.
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous
  • Very comfortable and cheap hotel. Good if you are here for visiting, but there is little private access to internet.
  • 94%
  • 24 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
  • Great atmosphere! Nice rooms and bathrooms, very clean all over.
  • 89%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • Close from subway station, which is a big plus. About 20 minutes to the Bund, an hour and a half to the Pudong Airport, and 30 minutes to the Hongqiao Railway Station. Big hotel, with lots of rooms, but wifi only offered in the lobby area. Rooms/bathrooms cleaned on daily basis. Coin laundry, payable internet kiosks, hot water facility, and elevator.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • Close to a metro stop and restaurants. The staff is hit or miss. Some were friendly, others were unhelpful. The place has an excellent atmosphere though. Made so many good friends in Shanghai (might have had something to do with the fact that it was too hot to go out during the day while I was there haha). Food and drinks are overpriced (especially beer) so save your money and go out to eat and drink.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The staff members need to take some Englishlessons but they make an effort. The rooms are big, nice and clean. Breakfast is boring. They charge 10Y for breakfast during the summer.
  • 74%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Anonymous Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »