See other Shanghai properties

City Central International Hostel

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 85% from 18 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was cool, staff were pretty unfriendly but practical. No real atmosphere.
  • 71%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel is pretty good. It has comfortable lobby and bar. But Internet is a bit slow.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Yakimova Russia
  • A travellers paradise. Culturally significant. Meet with other travellers at the bar, share experiences. Easy access to the metro, though slightly out from the center of the city - you will be fine if you figure out the metro. The bathrooms were average, so were the loos. Beer at the bar was slightly over-priced. What you get for 8Y outside was 35Y inside! That's posh club rates - but nothing stops you from buying a few beers and drinking in your room.
  • 89%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous
  • Great clean and modern hostel. All necessary facilities are at hand, however, everything 'extra' costs money. For example, to use the washing machines you have to buy a 20yuan token which is ten times as much as in my student dorms. Also, wifi was not available in my room. The staff speaks English and are very helpful, there are several tours available in case you want to get out of the city. Would definitely recommend staying here!
  • 83%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Björn Netherlands
  • The only down-sided to this place was the staff. The tours/tourism desk was not helpful, and they would not book a tour without at least three people on it- which is a down-side for a solo traveler. They were kind, and helpful about anything dealing with the hostel itself (rooms, laundry), but trying to gain travel information was difficult. Great place for those who are keen to figure it out on their own.
  • 91%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Sarah USA
  • Very good hostel. Personal speaks English. clean and convenient. A lot of young people around the world. The best ast place in Shanghai. Хостел очень понравился. Все уютно чисто и убрано. Есть wi-fi. Персонал говорит на английском. Много молодежи с разных стран.
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Maryna Ukraine
  • The hostel was a little difficult to find because of the directions given by the staff. I think they should have a better understanding of the location to explain to their guests. Also some of the staff did not seem very amicable to us. Overall it was a positive experience.
  • 80%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous Sri Lanka
  • Excellent helpful staff and nice warm room
  • 91%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous England
  • Rude reception staff, lobby smells like bathroom
  • 83%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Alan USA
  • Very nice hotel.
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »