See other Shanghai properties

City Central International Hostel

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 80% from 10 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a great private room. Easy to find with the directions given. The restaurant/bar attached is cool as well. Great Hostel.
  • 86%
  • 30 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • slow internet speed / impossible to work / only catches in hall
  • 97%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Very nice and clean hostel, a bit expensive for Chinese standards, but still okay. The staff could be a little more friendly, though.
  • 80%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Vinzenz Germany
  • I enjoyed my stay at the city centre hostel and im looking forward to returning for another stay
  • 86%
  • 04 Mar 2016 SIbongile Zambia
  • Slightly grumpy staff, even by Chinese standards, though very affordable
  • 57%
  • 29 Oct 2015 Scott USA
  • This hostel is pretty run-down. Looks like the owner doesn't care to put any money in it. It's pretty dirty. Very little charm. I stayed in a private and the walls in the room had stains all over, the floor was coming up and the bathroom had a funk and moldiness to it. I've stayed in other hostels before, so I know what to expect from this type of accommodation. I would say "you get what you pay for", but in City Central's case, I would say they're overcharging for mediocre at best.
  • 57%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Mostly OK hostel. Nice and tidy place. However people completely irrespectful of other in 4 dorms. Having phone rings, and eating noodle at midnight is just crazy. The world will work better when people will respect others...
  • 86%
  • 08 Aug 2015 durand France
  • For some of the shared rooms I suggest having a better ventilation system in place. This allows for random smells and odors (from previous and current guests) to be released and the feeling of fresher air. On the weekend I would prefer for the Bar Lounge to be open later into the evening, say 3am.
  • 91%
  • 29 May 2015 alexander USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »