See other Toronto properties

City Guesthouse

306 Wellesley st E, Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.8km

Rating: 87% from 15 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fellow who runs the building came out to meet us when we first arrived. He was very friendly, and directed us to some yummy eats around the hostel.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Adriana Canada
  • The room we stayed in was big and had loads of storage, which was fantastic as we stayed for 12 nights. There was a refrigerator in the room too and the bed was comfy!. It is a peaceful place to stay, great for relaxing! The average scoring for cleanliness is because of the shower, it needs a good cleaning and it would have been perfect. Everything else was great. The people running the guest house are so nice and this is why I would recommend you to stay here! Well worth it!
  • 80%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Jessica Ireland
  • Cute bed and breakfast style hostel without the breakfast. Stayed in a double room. We ran late for check in due to plane delays and staff waited for us which was very kind. Location is quite close to the city with a 10 min walk to the subway. (You can take the bus just outside the door but we never had the right change and preferred to use the train). Staff were also helpful with information about the city, transport etc. Large room, with closet space and extra blankets/pillows. Excellent wifi!
  • 97%
  • 13 May 2014 Joel Australia
  • It's an old house with character. Not luxury accommodations by any means but the hosts were wonderful, it's a great value, and I have no complaints whatsoever. The location is a bit far from the city centre but right on a bus line (the buses, streetcars, and subway are very well integrated) and there are a few subway stops that aren't too far. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again myself.
  • 94%
  • 09 May 2014 James USA
  • We loved this place! It was way nicer and cheaper than a hotel we stayed at later.
  • 97%
  • 09 May 2014 Taaja USA
  • The house owner is very kind, polite and respectful, We enjoy our stay and definitely we will go back and stay there. Thank you so much for your hospitality!!!
  • 94%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Martha Mexico
  • It's well located, with a nice manager. The price is fair. It could be cleaner and the sheets gave me and allergic reaction, but that was all fine :)
  • 69%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Debora Brazil
  • Decently sized rooms, really good value for money. Staff friendly and helpful, though not always available. Kitchen and bathrooms could use some regular cleaning. No sign outside. Write down address, otherwise you will have trouble finding the place.
  • 74%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Aras Germany
  • The owner is a very pleasant person.
  • 94%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Dragan Canada
  • It's a hostel located in Cabbagetown. I really enjoyed the neighbourhood with the restaurants and boutiques. It is near the subway station and downtown. The hosts are really nice. We came at 7am to drop our luggage without problems. The victorian house is beautiful and would be even better with restoration. It's not the newest facilities but for the price it's perfect!
  • 94%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Stephanie
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »