See other Toronto properties

City Guesthouse

306 Wellesley st E, Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.8km

Rating: 80% from 19 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A really great room for the money. The owner was a really nice person too. He helped us a lot in our trips around town with good advices. Location is a quiet place quite near to Downtown and most of attraction. Walk to the subway is a short stroll too If you doesn't like walking. The only problem was temperature in the room. It was sometimes really cold in the night. Also the smell was funky but you can get used to it. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone.
  • 74%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Jakub Poland
  • Decent location. Eventhough a bit annoyding if you have to park a car. (only 12 h intervals not 24h). There was a lot of dust aswell in the room. But the price was quite decent. The guy running the place was nice and helpfull when we arrived. But i dont know if this i gonna matter at all, while we were there, new buyers were in the house (and knocking on our door to see the room).
  • 66%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The room was tidy and clean and the bed comfortable. The hostel staff was friendly and willing to cooperate, they even waited for our late check in and extended our check out time. The shower needs a little bit of updating, especially regarding the waterproof curtain. In general, I think it is a good place to stay for a short time in Toronto.
  • 71%
  • 21 Oct 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Terrible... Very dirty especially the bed... Smell like a homeless was coming up from the bed. I couldn't get a sleep well. Worthless.
  • 40%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We stayed in the garret on the 3rd floor which has a king size bed and single one. The room was so lovely and clean, huge. Wifi was pretty fast and well condition. Staff were nice. The location were a bit far from Yonge street x dundas street, but we can take a bus/ train. Also there's everything around the guesthouse. A grocery store, bank, restaurant, bakery, cafe. We enjoyed the stay there and love that pretty room!
  • 74%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Chika Japan
  • Really nice place, peacefull. Room was very hot and the beds kept breaking, but other than that, no complaints
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Jaen Australia
  • Fellow who runs the building came out to meet us when we first arrived. He was very friendly, and directed us to some yummy eats around the hostel.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Adriana Canada
  • The room we stayed in was big and had loads of storage, which was fantastic as we stayed for 12 nights. There was a refrigerator in the room too and the bed was comfy!. It is a peaceful place to stay, great for relaxing! The average scoring for cleanliness is because of the shower, it needs a good cleaning and it would have been perfect. Everything else was great. The people running the guest house are so nice and this is why I would recommend you to stay here! Well worth it!
  • 80%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Jessica Ireland
  • Cute bed and breakfast style hostel without the breakfast. Stayed in a double room. We ran late for check in due to plane delays and staff waited for us which was very kind. Location is quite close to the city with a 10 min walk to the subway. (You can take the bus just outside the door but we never had the right change and preferred to use the train). Staff were also helpful with information about the city, transport etc. Large room, with closet space and extra blankets/pillows. Excellent wifi!
  • 97%
  • 13 May 2014 Joel Australia
  • It's an old house with character. Not luxury accommodations by any means but the hosts were wonderful, it's a great value, and I have no complaints whatsoever. The location is a bit far from the city centre but right on a bus line (the buses, streetcars, and subway are very well integrated) and there are a few subway stops that aren't too far. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again myself.
  • 94%
  • 09 May 2014 James USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »