See other Seattle properties

City Hostel Seattle

2327 2nd ave., Seattle, Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 88% from 92 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good Points about this hostel. It's like Alcatraz every time you enter your sled for your key card. The problem is the key card never worked on the main entrance door so had to wait several times for it to be fixed. But it just broke again. Secondly was the city tour which was really good. Apart from that it was HELL. Checkin at 1130pm was accompanied by deafening music at reception and less than helpful reception staff. Construction work meant that you were awoken at 6am :-(
  • 51%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • great experience. staff very helpful, roomy, lots of good ideas. good directions.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Charlotte USA
  • Everyone was lovely. The staff were very friendly and wonderfully helpful. The only two downsides: Place was packed with a giant group of German students. So using the kitchen and all that quickly became impossible. But that's not really the hostel's fault. And I ended up having to leave the hostel three days early---but could not get a refund for any of those days. That kinda sucked.
  • 97%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Friendly, super secure and clean, that is what I look for in a hostel. Great neighborhood, check out the happy hour at the Lost Pelican around the corner, the greatest crawfish pasta for $5! Great stay!
  • 91%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • This place is awesome. Its so close to everything and everyone is so friendly. Plus they make breakfast for you every morning and some nights have activities, like bbq's or movie nights. I'm definitely staying here next time I go to seattle.
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The best hostel I've stayed in so far, having stayed in various in SF, Portland and New Orleans. Good breakfast (including nutri-bars to go !), very clean environment, solid security measures. Keep up the good work !
  • 100%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Front desk had a whale of time trying to check me in. I was alarmed to find out that they keep your credit card on file. As in forever, even if you want to pay cash. Huge security concern. Room was dirty, gum all over bed. "Artwork" looked like someone exploded a soda all over the walls -gross! Bathrooms & kitchen were clean. I never saw the hottub, but I don't think I'd partake in using it, Super noisy hostel, both street & hostel noises. Expensive for what you have to put up with. Won't return
  • 49%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Rooms are somewhat rundown. Window blinds don't work well and windows are hard to operate, and the wooden bits were falling off! What used to be great drawings from artists now have water stains on them. But I can see that the hostel is undergoing some renovation work so I hope it gets finished soon. Despite the "hardware issues", City Hostel has great staff! All enthusiastic and kind, making everyone feel very welcome. :)
  • 71%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Great place! People are really really friendly. They check everyone's keycard at the door, it made me feel safer that the people that work there care about the people they are watching over.
  • 100%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very modern hostel, with a lot of different people. The staff is very accommodating. The kitchen offers plenty of room to cook and socialize along with their weekly activities for free.
  • 94%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »