See other Washington DC properties

City House Hostel Washington DC

506 H Street NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 83% from 12 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was really good! Friendy staff, clean, close to everything Only some of the bathrooms need some repairs on the showers and the heat could have been on in one or two nights..
  • 94%
  • 03 Nov 2017 Anonymous Germany
  • Security: although they operate with a code to get into the hostel I felt unsafe. People leave the doors open behind them and the reception has a different entrance so that every stranger could sneak into the dorms. Location: H-Street is quite a busy street and if you stay in a room close to the street it is quite loud Staff: very friendly and always happy to help Cleanliness & Facilities: bathrooms and bed rooms are quite old and should be renovated, e.g bathroom 3rd floor shoer should be fixed
  • 49%
  • 13 Oct 2017 Carolin Germany
  • Clean rooms, quiet considering how many people were staying at the time. Great kitchen facility and bathrroms are clean and private, and I managed to get in and out without having to wait. Altogether, it was suitable for the one night I had to stopover at Washington DC.
  • 80%
  • 23 Sep 2017 Anonymous England
  • I stayed only for a night. Location is great, very Close to Union station, but further from all other spots. I didnt like we couldnt lock our own door. That needs to be fixed in a hostel with many different people. Also the luggage area is where everyone can have access to it and nobody controlled, who grabbed which bag.
  • 71%
  • 12 Jul 2017 Anonymous Germany
  • Would be good to fix the tap over the tub on the second floor bathroom: a lot of water is wasted because the shower does not fully switch on and about half the water is wasted. The electrical outlet is very loose and pops out from the wallboard.
  • 77%
  • 16 Jun 2017 Dennis USA
  • Fantastic hostel. The manager, Lincoln, was an absolute gem.
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2017 Anonymous Australia
  • Whenever I am in DC, I always stay at this hostel, due to its proximity to Union Station. It is always clean, has nice staff, and is very easy to check in/out.
  • 80%
  • 09 Mar 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I had an absolutely wonderful experience here. Although I stayed only one night, all staff were helpful, friendly, welcoming, and fun - I'm sure I would have had more positive things to say about this hostel if I had stayed longer. It is at a very convenient location, the place is kept clean and has free coffee! They have daily social events for their guests too.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jan 2017 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »