See other Copenhagen properties

City Public Hostel

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 71% from 31 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The most amazing staff who helped me with so many issues.Also made it possible to extend my stay..Cant say enough good about these people...thank you Paul Cress
  • 89%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Paul USA
  • Great location and easy to find. We stayed in the 66 bed dorm which was okay, but with that many people its difficult to sleep with people coming back at 3am and banging about. Beds were uncomfortable and smelt weird, but the cleanliness of the showers and the rest of the hostel was good. Probably wouldn't stay there again, but you pay for what you get.
  • 74%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very pleasant and very popular place.This is real hostel! Good kitchen, as well as all other facilities; and all the possibilities for communication. Green lawn and alley of rose bushes - in front of the house. There is also a patio - with tables for lunch. And it is in the center of Copenhagen!
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Good location but pricey and very low standard. No locks on the doors, no lights and showers on different level.
  • 54%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Filip Sweden
  • Superb place for us who are happy with any sort of bed and a toilet, both where just fine. Easy going staff, real nice people. The only thing I could complain about is the air condition/vent. Sure I was there during the three hottest days of the year but woah, it's one loud AC. So it's not that much of a complaint. I'd rather have loud over asphyxiation.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Robin Sweden
  • Very nice hostel with a nice staff always at disposal! The location is great, near the station and the city center. The beds were a little bit creaky and not so comfortable, but hey, it's a hostel ;) I think I'll recommend it to anyone I know who wants to go to København :D
  • 77%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Martina Switzerland
  • Decent hostel, very little noise considering the size of the dorm rooms. Shower facilities could use more regular cleaning, but otherwise okay.
  • 66%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The atmosphere at the hostel waas great and you could go and talk to anyone :) Security on the other hand wasn't that amazing, all the doors are open all the time, but there are lockers in the rooms, so you really need a lock. Other than that it's a really good hostel on a quite peacefull area, but still close to the center.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Viivi Finland
  • At this hostel you get what you pay for - we paid 150 Norwegian kroner per bed in a 66-room dorm. It's not very luxurious, but then again, the price is very low. Very nice showers and friendly staff willing to go out of their way to help you out. A little negative that they took extra cash for pillows and sheets. Definetely the place for travellers looking for a comfy bed and a nice shower, definitely not for travellers looking for luxury and privacy.
  • 77%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • This place is in a dumpy location. The dorms are not ideal. It's one huge room with ceiling lights that will blind you if you are on the top bunk. You have to rent everything. Even your pillow. The kitchen was not too dirty but the men's shower was filthy. It's cheap so you get what you pay for but I would only recommend this as an emergency one night place to stay.
  • 43%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Cody
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »