See other Copenhagen properties

City Public Hostel

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 69% from 36 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, rooms and bathrooms were clean (though my companions complained of shower cleanliness), large well-equipped kitchen, nice backyard, good security with the keypad. Got a little claustrophobic - nowhere to be alone. Personal issue. Good hostel though.
  • 86%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • Very disappointed with the fact that no bedding was provided, I paid just as much in Hamburg and Cologne for two nights and a duvet, sheets and pillow were provided but they weren't here. This place will get enough income to make a sacrifice and provide bedding, something that I think is almost a basic human right. Also it wasn't to rent the bedding, but to buy for the equivalent of around 6 pounds so surely I could have kept this bedding afterwards? Definitely should have been a necessity.
  • 69%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • This is a nice hostel if you're looking for the cheapest way to stay without knowing anyone in Copenhagen! There's a lot going on in the district surrounding it and you can walk anywhere in the city pretty much from the hostel. I really enjoyed the community there everyone was very interesting and easy to talk to!
  • 83%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • everything was OK. just not too great. the kitchen gets closed from midnight till 8;30 in the morning. I wanted to just take my food from the fridge in the morning, but I had to wait for an hour. door of the kitchen gets locked. it was really inconvenient. also, you really have to label your food with every information like your room number and bed. I had my name on it, cuz I didnt know the bed number just yet and was gonna write later and forgot. then all my food got thrown away. so sad.
  • 60%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • the worst place I've ever been
  • 40%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • I think this hostel is average, nothing that bad, nothing that awesome. Location is good, easy to find from central railway station (about 10 minutes from the station on foot), It was clean and O.K. but I wasn't that happy with some noisy guests who kept talking loudly until like 3~4am in the living room which is right next to our room. I hope this hostel will make "silent time" after mid night. FYI, there's no laundry room in this hostel.
  • 71%
  • 29 Jul 2015 EUN JEONG South Korea
  • Quyte nice hostel for young peoples.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Lithuania
  • The staff were very friendly when i checked in (a bit late in the night 22:00 or so) and there were people in the lobby and people sitting outside who all seemed to be enjoying their stay. My sole concern was the squeakiness of my bed as I was in one of the larger mixed dorms, but i didn't seem to wake anyone. I only stayed overnight, but did get a chance to use the kitchen space. It was large and well lit, and if you'd like to make your own meal, probably near perfect.
  • 91%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • very friendly and helpful staff
  • 83%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • it's the perfect place for travellers who like to meet new people, I had a good time both with other guests and the hostel staff. Security wise it could be better, even if I or my friends didn't have any problem leaving our luggages in the dorm rooms. I would come back again for sure!
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Riccardo Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »