See other Copenhagen properties

City Public Hostel

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 75% from 17 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in the 66 bed room. It is SUPER quiet and the place was full. Even though the room is directly connected to the lobby you don´t hear anything till you step out. Beds are comfortable. People complain about the extras that you have to pay, but the hostel makes it very clear. For a place with that many people, it has kept extremely clean and equipped. Note that there are lockers near the bed and storage lockers downstairs. The ones in the room uses a smaller lock.
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Great place to stay, either in the 66 person room or the 12 person room. The difference is between hurricane relief or summer camp, but both are good. Cheap place to stay and everyone is super friendly!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • To be the cheapest hostel in the city, it is a good choice for anyone not wanting to spend all the travel budget on sleeping. The facilities were quite alright, the kitchen was clean and had all the equipments needed for cooking and making your own breakfast. Women's shower floor would need to be washed more often, (felt like doing it myself, but I didn't). Also the bed madress was not extremely 'attractive'. Otherwise a good place to stay and friendly staff. Thanx! =)
  • 74%
  • 23 Jul 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • Kind of confused when not being able to check in between 22.30-23.00 and then not getting helped when I finally could check in after 23.00... Not accepting credit cards!? - it is 2013 for Gods sake! Pay extra for everything... Not so nice... Sleeping in a 66 bed dorm was okey though since you got small huts of some kind. Close to the central station which was good for me.
  • 54%
  • 23 Jul 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Nothing out of the ordinary, just an ok stay.
  • 54%
  • 24 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The experience was good overall, but you should charge all included. Didnt like to Pay separately for sheets, pillow, padlock, cover etc. Breakfast should be included too. Nota asking for anything crazy.. Its not fair. Its like im saying in 99.9 % of the hostels in the World.. That thing would change my mind about returning or recomending your hostel to friends. The rest of the experience was great. Thanks
  • 77%
  • 22 Jun 2013 Enrique Maximiliano Argentina
  • One of the best hostels i've ever visited with great location, structure and atmosphere!
  • 83%
  • 14 Jun 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Cheap breakfast, I think only 3 euro, met good people, good easy access to lockers even before check-in/ after check-out, and lots of common space to hang out in. Only complaint is that wi-fi was pretty patchy during day hours.
  • 80%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • well at first when I booked City hostel, I was afraid of staying in a room with other 65 people, and about the safety since I brought with me laptop and could not carry it when I walked around. Hence the reality was better than my expectation, though the price was far more expensive than in other countries :)
  • 63%
  • 07 Jun 2013 huyen Vietnam
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »