See other Copenhagen properties

City Public Hostel

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 76% from 18 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 66%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The atmosphere at the hostel waas great and you could go and talk to anyone :) Security on the other hand wasn't that amazing, all the doors are open all the time, but there are lockers in the rooms, so you really need a lock. Other than that it's a really good hostel on a quite peacefull area, but still close to the center.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Viivi Finland
  • At this hostel you get what you pay for - we paid 150 Norwegian kroner per bed in a 66-room dorm. It's not very luxurious, but then again, the price is very low. Very nice showers and friendly staff willing to go out of their way to help you out. A little negative that they took extra cash for pillows and sheets. Definetely the place for travellers looking for a comfy bed and a nice shower, definitely not for travellers looking for luxury and privacy.
  • 77%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • This place is in a dumpy location. The dorms are not ideal. It's one huge room with ceiling lights that will blind you if you are on the top bunk. You have to rent everything. Even your pillow. The kitchen was not too dirty but the men's shower was filthy. It's cheap so you get what you pay for but I would only recommend this as an emergency one night place to stay.
  • 43%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Cody
  • Book somewhere else if you can. Staff was friendly and that's about the only good thing I can say about the hostel. I am not a very picky guy when it comes to living conditions, as a backpacker I don't need much. What really irked me was how nasty the bathroom was combined with the symphony of snoring that I couldn't sleep through even with earplugs in. Try to book somewhere else even if you have to pony up a little more money, that's my advice to you.
  • 54%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was a nice hostel. I only should change the showers. The water really escapes from every connection. So it doesnot feel comfortabel to walk around with your totally flooded towel.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Adri Netherlands
  • Really bad. For a hostel that sleeps at least a hundred people, three dirty men's showers is a pretty big stretch. You have to pay extra for sheets, my first night in one of the smaller dorms was plagued by the noisiest metal bunks I've yet encountered in my six weeks of travel. The 66 person dorm was actually quieter. Location is a little too out of the way.
  • 40%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Michael A Canada
  • Good hostel. Good relation price/benefits.
  • 83%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I stayed in the 66 bed room. It is SUPER quiet and the place was full. Even though the room is directly connected to the lobby you don´t hear anything till you step out. Beds are comfortable. People complain about the extras that you have to pay, but the hostel makes it very clear. For a place with that many people, it has kept extremely clean and equipped. Note that there are lockers near the bed and storage lockers downstairs. The ones in the room uses a smaller lock.
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Great place to stay, either in the 66 person room or the 12 person room. The difference is between hurricane relief or summer camp, but both are good. Cheap place to stay and everyone is super friendly!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »