See other Copenhagen properties

City Public Hostel

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 71% from 15 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is in a dumpy location. The dorms are not ideal. It's one huge room with ceiling lights that will blind you if you are on the top bunk. You have to rent everything. Even your pillow. The kitchen was not too dirty but the men's shower was filthy. It's cheap so you get what you pay for but I would only recommend this as an emergency one night place to stay.
  • 43%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Cody
  • Book somewhere else if you can. Staff was friendly and that's about the only good thing I can say about the hostel. I am not a very picky guy when it comes to living conditions, as a backpacker I don't need much. What really irked me was how nasty the bathroom was combined with the symphony of snoring that I couldn't sleep through even with earplugs in. Try to book somewhere else even if you have to pony up a little more money, that's my advice to you.
  • 54%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was a nice hostel. I only should change the showers. The water really escapes from every connection. So it doesnot feel comfortabel to walk around with your totally flooded towel.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Adri Netherlands
  • Really bad. For a hostel that sleeps at least a hundred people, three dirty men's showers is a pretty big stretch. You have to pay extra for sheets, my first night in one of the smaller dorms was plagued by the noisiest metal bunks I've yet encountered in my six weeks of travel. The 66 person dorm was actually quieter. Location is a little too out of the way.
  • 40%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Michael A Canada
  • Good hostel. Good relation price/benefits.
  • 83%
  • 29 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I stayed in the 66 bed room. It is SUPER quiet and the place was full. Even though the room is directly connected to the lobby you don´t hear anything till you step out. Beds are comfortable. People complain about the extras that you have to pay, but the hostel makes it very clear. For a place with that many people, it has kept extremely clean and equipped. Note that there are lockers near the bed and storage lockers downstairs. The ones in the room uses a smaller lock.
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Great place to stay, either in the 66 person room or the 12 person room. The difference is between hurricane relief or summer camp, but both are good. Cheap place to stay and everyone is super friendly!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • To be the cheapest hostel in the city, it is a good choice for anyone not wanting to spend all the travel budget on sleeping. The facilities were quite alright, the kitchen was clean and had all the equipments needed for cooking and making your own breakfast. Women's shower floor would need to be washed more often, (felt like doing it myself, but I didn't). Also the bed madress was not extremely 'attractive'. Otherwise a good place to stay and friendly staff. Thanx! =)
  • 74%
  • 23 Jul 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • Kind of confused when not being able to check in between 22.30-23.00 and then not getting helped when I finally could check in after 23.00... Not accepting credit cards!? - it is 2013 for Gods sake! Pay extra for everything... Not so nice... Sleeping in a 66 bed dorm was okey though since you got small huts of some kind. Close to the central station which was good for me.
  • 54%
  • 23 Jul 2013 Anonymous Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »