See other Amsterdam properties

Cocomama

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 93% from 15 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • friendliest and most helpful staff I've ever encountered in a hostel! Incredibly welcoming and refreshingly classy yet comfortable. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to anyone travelling to amsterdam!
  • 97%
  • 27 Mar 2014 paul Canada
  • This is a really nice hostel and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The staff were incredibly helpful (especially Kristina) and the atmosphere was more like a home that a hostel. The hostel's location is ideal for visiting the Heineken brewery, Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum. The other main tourist attractions are within a reasonable walk or accessible by the tram which runs outside the entrance. Room was very clean with a large modern bathroom and power sockets at each bed.
  • 97%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Very close to the tram, the location is perfect. Is a good place to get to know travellers from all over the world. And the night activities help the ones that come here by themselves
  • 97%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Eduardo Brazil
  • adorable, adorable, adorable.
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Very fine stay - nice kitchen, good location, great staff. Comfortable beds, good showers, lockers in rooms. Only comment: no breakfast, but a nice spacious kitchen and lounge with and free pasta available for cooking.
  • 94%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I absolutely loved Coco Mama and will stay there again when I go back to Amsterdam! I stayed in one of the 6 bed dorms which was a bit cramped (though the curtains on the beds offer privacy) but it was never an issue because the common area downstairs is very nice and always full of friendly faces and comfy couches. Don't stay here if you don't want to make friends, hang out with people, and pet the cat. The hostel is within walking distance of almost all the places you'll want to go.
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Clara France
  • Cocomama's is AWESOME! The staff are great - warm, authentic, and highly skilled at creating a welcoming environment. I was very happy with my time there, and my sense was that most of the travelers felt likewise, which also contributes to the great atmosphere. Location is great, kitchen is very well set up, a very interesting mix of people to meet...Cocomama's is a lovely "home away from home" while in Amsterdam...thank you to everyone who helps create this wonderful space!
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Rosalma USA
  • Best hostel i have ever stayed with. Warm and friendly atmosphere. You feel like home in here.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Jesse Finland
  • Really great place to stay, the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and informative =) Any questions and they'll point you in the right direction =) Had a time to remember! Definitely worth a stay!! ;-) =)
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Anonymous Seychelles
  • Amazing hostel! Great staff, confortable beds, clean and well located, outside the madness of the red light district!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Thais Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »