See other Amsterdam properties

Cocomama

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 91% from 22 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I'm actually considering coming back to Amsterdam at the end of my trip not only because I'm in love with the city, but because Cocomama was the best experience I could have asked for. Kimberley, I love you! Joop, you're the cutest!
  • 100%
  • 04 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I LOVED Cocomama. Great environment and staff. The hostel felt more like a family atmosphere than a regular hostel. The rooms were great, the beds were very comfy, and the kitchen/communal space was inviting, cozy, and made it very easy to meet other travelers. Not a party hostel, so you can easily chill and relax there, but it's also very easy to meet people and go out partying. Definitely a unique and special hostel. I would go back in an instant!
  • 97%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Everything was great! It was everything I could have asked for. In particular, Jo, Nikki, and Shannon were especially friendly and helpful and went beyond the call of duty.
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Coco Mama is one of The best hostels in Amsterdam. The staff is amazing ( including the lovely cat) and the rooms have plenty of space. Will recommend to anyone coming to Amsterdam!
  • 80%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Really cute and cozy hostel. Great staff and service!! I'd highly recommend it to someone who wants to stay in a quieter part of town, away from the crazy city centre. It's about half an hour walk or 15 minute tram to Dam square/centraal, in a pretty quiet area :) It's not for anyone looking for a wild time though! Met some really great people in the cute little common room :) Had an awesome stay in this amazing city!! Loved it. I'll be back!
  • 94%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Great hostel with a great vibe! The staff that work here are very friendly and super helpful. Has a good common area that's a great place to chill and meet other travellers staying at the hostel. The staff also organise nightly events that is a great way to meet new people and experience what Amsterdam has to offer. Defiantely staying here next time I'm in town. Cheers!
  • 100%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Nikolas Australia
  • After the first "shock", we acclimatized ourself in our little cave in the basement. If you're lucky enough to get this little "cosy" room, you'll know what we're talking about. Nevertheless, Cocomamas siting is to be recommended and we had a great time in Amsterdam! Cheers.
  • 71%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Jenny Germany
  • I stayed in a four person dorm. All in all its a good hostel. It's it the De Pipe neighborhood which has the Heineken Brewery and Albert Culpa street market near by. There's a tram stop right in front that can take you to Dam square and other popular locations. I would stay there again.
  • 80%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Jacob USA
  • Great hostel! Will definitely stay here again
  • 94%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A hostel is more than its facilities. It's an atmosphere and an experience. Good hostels give good experiences. Cocmama is the best hostel I've ever been to. It's not the cleanest hostel, I've ever been to or anything like that, but it gives you such an experience. The staff are amazingly frienly and will kickstart conversations, fun etc. The rooms are really cute, and the kitchen/lounge area is a great place to meet people. Loved it!!
  • 86%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Michaela Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »