See other Colombo properties

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka, Distance from city centre: 9.7km

Rating: 79% from 9 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Super friendly and helpful owners and in general lovely hostel.
  • 86%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • The owners were very lovely and helpful. The location is great- right near the beach and galle road but far enough to be away from all the noise. The rooms are okay, only downside was the wifi didnt work in the rooms. It was a good hostel to meet other travellers
  • 86%
  • 10 Jan 2014 madeleine
  • Loved this hostel! Staff (mumma) looked after us so well and has such a kind heart! So close to the beach 50meters and great security as well both to get into the hostel and lockers etc. Will be returning to visit he when we leave Sri Lanka!
  • 94%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Amanda New Zealand
  • Lovely couple of women who run the place, has a nice vibe and free wifi to boot! Close to the beach, two minutes' walk and you can enjoy the sunset and some decent food! They'll also do breakfast at a price, I'm led to believe. Good, safe atmosphere - dorm was good.
  • 86%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • On my arrival, the staff entered the hostel room, saw a bed with someone's belongings on it, went through them, moved them out to a public area, then assigned me the bed. There were other beds free. She didn't change the sheets. The room had NO accessible outlets. At checkout, the water cut out, leaving me soap-covered. When I waited for the water's return, the staff yelled at me and others, blaming us for the outage, and told me I had to leave or pay an overstay fee. I found lice thereafter.
  • 40%
  • 01 Nov 2013 amber USA
  • Nice hostel. Good location by the beach. It is a little farther from central parts of Colombo, but these are easily accessible by public bus. Staff was friendly and helpful.
  • 77%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Nothing to complain about! Warm atmosphere and cheap, good breakfast (150 Rs). Great opportunities to meet other travellers. We had a private room, it was rather small but its privacy was excellent! Only thing is that they should have emptied the trash every day, because empty water bottles take up a lot of space. A word of warning: the nearby beach is rather touristy and pushy people keep trying to sell you souvenirs when you just want to sit and look at the sunset.
  • 97%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Maija Finland
  • located between a city beach and the bus to the Colombo center is this hostel unique. You can get an inside in the caste system in the year 2013. therefore don't expect too much like Wifi outside the lobby or paid tv cable bills. really special.
  • 60%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Jens Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »