See other Copenhagen properties

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 81% from 45 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not enough bathrooms for the amount of guests. The +5 % credit card charge was an unpleasant surprise. Hotel room was wet when we checked in. The room was too small for 10 persons to be comfortable in.
  • 57%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Sami Finland
  • The best part of the hostel was the lobby/bar. It was very social and as a solo traveler that was exactly what I needed. The location is fantastic, right in the center of the city. I rented a bike from them for the day (which you need to do in Copenhagen). Everything was clean. Only complaint was that the locks on the hall doors didn't work.
  • 80%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Kristen USA
  • We loved the atmosphere of this hostel! It is vibrant and welcoming. Note: This hostel is officially on "Vandkunsten" street, but this name only applies to one block of the street, so it's too small to show up on most maps (especially the free maps handed out in the train station or tourist info office). Travelers would find the hostel easier if it was clearly stated that you can reach it by going to "Løngangstræde" street and continuing northeast almost to the intersection with "Rådhusstræde".
  • 91%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Douglas USA
  • Great hostel, would recommend it to anyone going to Copenhagen. Very very friendly environment, and nice organisation!!
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Matej Macedonia
  • Even late arrival at 01:00 p.m. - no problem,
  • 20%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Gernot
  • I had a great time. Nice and cool place to stay.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Jan Switzerland
  • I rented a good bike (I think it was 17 euros for 12 hours I think) and the free dinner at night was very abundant and fresh and loaded with vegetables (not at all vegetarian though, which would be good for them to add as it's cheaper than a meat dish dinner!). My only complaint was that I was caught awake with jet lag at 4am and there is no where to go at all since they lock the lobby and kitchen from 2-7am. I went and hung out in the stairwell and there were others there in my same situation.
  • 91%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice and clean. Kind helpful staff. Good kitchen. Good breakfast. Can be a bit loud party nights
  • 77%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • get a mirror and some pegs to hang our clothes on in every room! the mirror will really take some pressure of the bathrooms and toilets.
  • 80%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Helene Norway
  • Fantastic location and friendly staff. Engaging communal spaces and free dinners are an excellent idea to get guests to mingle.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »