See other Cork properties

Cork International Youth Hostel (An Oige)

1&2 Redclyffe, Western Road, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 18 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Practically no parking and the bathroom was pretty small. Besides that, it was fine. Nothing to write home about, nothing to complain about either.
  • 66%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Lee USA
  • All good, thanks1
  • 86%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous France
  • I thought cork hostels where friendly and helpful good location for city pubs shop museum s ect good bus service I would go back to cork hostels
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Pauline England
  • Really nice staff and a nice bed. Kitchen was okay.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • For a hostel with 96 beds, there should be an oven available for use. It was very frustrating only having access to stovetops that you had to start with a lighter. The lighter was always misplaced so I would have to ask someone for their own personal lighter to get it started. Room was nice and clean, however. No complaints overall other than the kitchen. It was also a pretty far walk (about 30 min) from the bus stop and most attractions.
  • 63%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Laura USA
  • everything is ok
  • 94%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • The location was a bit out of the way. Especially at night when we wanted to go out and have a good time and come home late. We knew there would be a 30 minute walk back afterwards. Also, the button in the shower to keep the water on is really inconvient. The water only stays on for 3-6 seconds. Installing a normal handle would be worth it... The room was nice and spacious though and the staff were helpful.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is a little farther from the city center than I thought, but still walkable. Be sure to look at a picture of the hostel beforehand to know what you are looking for, because there aren't many signs or anything. Everything else about the hostel was avaerage except for the fact that the room I stayed in had mold coming down the ceiling and the walls! So much black mold! This is a health hazard that needs to be fixed!!
  • 57%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Was a great location for what we needed, right by University College Cork! A little bit difficult to find because no one locally knows it by Cork International Youth Hostel and the sign is small. Staff were friendly and helpful with finding good places to eat. The room was clean and functional. Great value for the money!
  • 89%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Heather USA
  • The staff was the worse of our entire trip. When we checked-in, the guy at the reception was more interested by his facebook page than checking us in. In the morning they got lost in reservations and asked us to pay our second night (which we had already pay). Other than that, the hostel is further to the city center than specified.
  • 63%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Luc Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »