See other San Jose properties

Costa Rica Backpackers

Avenida 6, calle 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 75% from 10 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Was really excited to stay at Costa Rica Backpackers because I had heard wonderful things about it. None of the bathrooms were working when I was there and the four-person dorm smelled awful. I also had to wait all day to get a set of bed linens to put on my bed. Located about 20 minutes walking from the center, so going somewhere at night without a cab is not an option. I have stayed in better and just as cheap places in San Jose.
  • 57%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I only stayed for the night but it was a comfortable place. My only complain is that other guests were being really rude and loud. however, management was helpful in taking care of the problem.
  • 80%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Natalie USA
  • The man who will help you to get around is very good and very helpful.
  • 66%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • When I emailed the hostel and organized to be picked up at the airport, I was told there would be a grey van with the hostels name on the side of it and the man's name would be Franchesco. Being my first backpacking trip, I was fully expecting this to be true. The man that claimed to be Franchesco was not, and the real Franchesco we later identified by asking for his ID card. The can also was not grey nor did it say 'costa rica backpackers' on it.
  • 66%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Alana-Faye Canada
  • Pretty standard overnight hostels for your entry and exit day to Costa Rica. No point staying in San Jose for more than a day.
  • 71%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the nicest backyard I've ever seen for a hostel. Great outdoor kitchen. Good place to relax and meet people.
  • 83%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Really great hostel. It is like an oasis from the hustle of San Jose. The location is good just a short walk to grocery stores or restaurants. Staff very helpful!
  • 91%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Enjoyed my weekend in san jose and this hostel is perfect for walking to restaurants and pubs, we stayed in the private double bed room, bed very hard, but didn't expect more so were fine with it. Showers provided hot water and nice small pool outside with hammocks and kitchen, also liked the onsite small bar for cervasas and blender drinks. only 28 cdn total for each night.
  • 91%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Peggy Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »