See other Edinburgh properties

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 73% from 32 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not recommendable, when you need to sleep during the night, because you want to depart early in the morning. There was a party next door (kitchen) to the private. No staff available during the night - staircase looks more like an abandoned parking garage. Location is really good - close to all interesting places and the party zone.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Florian Germany
  • Nice place to stay. It is situated in the center, so you can easily come for a cup of tea during the day. They have no breakfasts as all hostels in Edinburgh, but there are free coffee, tea and milk at the reception. Kitchen is situated in the apartment with about 3-4 rooms in each. Good shower! :)
  • 80%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Kitchen was lacking supplies, a bit dirty. Only one shower and toilet that I could find to share with my entire floor. Beds here at Cowgate were nicer than most other hostels I stayed in on this trip, that's a plus. Front desk check in clerk was not friendly - even veering on being rude.
  • 51%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Was a brilliant stay. Stayed here quite a few times now. Always good. Staff are very helpful, accommodating and polite. The rooms were always nice and cosy. Perfect area to stay in for Edinburgh night life also. Will definitely be back again.
  • 97%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Barry
  • Our room smelled like old homeless, there were just beds and nothing else. On the wall was mould and people with some alergy should be carefull there. Only normal thing there was kitchen - really clean with dishes and not smelly like bedroom. Bathroom was without any furniture at all, hanger or rack or chair is definately in this hostel luxury. BUT! staff were really friendly, locality was more than great.I recomend it for group of people which don't want to spend there more time than for sleep.
  • 63%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anonymous Slovakia
  • I only gave poor on cleanliness as our toilet was completely blocked all night. Everything else was clean.
  • 91%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • I have never been to such a dirty place before. Bathroom was covered with mould and it was horribly humid.It stank everywhere.
  • 46%
  • 18 Sep 2013 Anonymous Poland
  • Excellent place and cheap, the localitions is great, very near to city centre
  • 83%
  • 15 Sep 2013 Gabriel Venezuela
  • Toilet flush didn't work properly... got fixed 3 days later Beds squeaked terribly PC downstairs old and not reliable (shut down several times just like that), keyboards hard to handle (you have to press the buttons very strongly) All in all okay/good - don't expect too much luxury, it's a hostel. Great central location, can be very noisy if you happen to have a room facing the Three Sisters Pub
  • 83%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Jevgenia Germany
  • I was there on weeknights and my room faced the back so i didnt hear any noise.. Great location. Staff was friendly. It was clean. Great value.
  • 83%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »