See other Edinburgh properties

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 76% from 39 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is perfectly situated for both - sightseeing and clubing. :)
  • 83%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Hana Czech Republic
  • Staff spoke poor English and were extremely confused, they didn't pick up either of the listed phones, it smelled like urine in the stairs, the reception was always crammed with people and very buisy, the room was cold, there was a lot of noise and no thoughts were given to the decor whatsoever. It was, however, cheap and had a good location - but I wouldn't stay there again.
  • 49%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Lea Denmark
  • It was good for a sleep, and had good kitchens. But was very noisy and the beds unconfortable. In my opinion to expensive, but i whent while Fringe was going on, so maybe hat justifies the price.
  • 77%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • My son stayed here when attending Highland Show in June, six of them stayed and they will definitely be booking in for next year. The Cowgate is so central to everywhere including a bus route, pubs and shops. Brilliant value for money!
  • 89%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Gillian Northern Ireland
  • I only stayed one night, it was like moving into a short term apartment. Which is nice if I stayed longer I would have very much appreciated that. The location was nice with lots of landmarks so one could easily find your way back. No real problem with noise, there was a projector screen set up across the road for the world cup so when the fans went home the noise went with them.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • fabulous hostel! all the facilities provided with a reasonable & affordable price!
  • 97%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous China
  • This hostel is very nice. They are all individual flats with two bathrooms and a kitchen. I ended up staying in two different buildings as my trip separated my days there, and both flats were very clean and well kept. The mattresses weren't the most comfortable things I have slept on; however, the location is very nice especially with three bars across the street. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking to visit Edinburgh.
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Not recommendable, when you need to sleep during the night, because you want to depart early in the morning. There was a party next door (kitchen) to the private. No staff available during the night - staircase looks more like an abandoned parking garage. Location is really good - close to all interesting places and the party zone.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Florian Germany
  • Nice place to stay. It is situated in the center, so you can easily come for a cup of tea during the day. They have no breakfasts as all hostels in Edinburgh, but there are free coffee, tea and milk at the reception. Kitchen is situated in the apartment with about 3-4 rooms in each. Good shower! :)
  • 80%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Kitchen was lacking supplies, a bit dirty. Only one shower and toilet that I could find to share with my entire floor. Beds here at Cowgate were nicer than most other hostels I stayed in on this trip, that's a plus. Front desk check in clerk was not friendly - even veering on being rude.
  • 51%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »