See other Edinburgh properties

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 75% from 25 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really like staying at cowgate hostel. Pros: The staff was really nice and helpful. It's only a block away from high street and it's super close to the nightlife area. Cons: It's a across the street from an outdoor bar (bring earplugs if you plan on going to sleep early)
  • 91%
  • 20 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My girlfriend and I stayed in Cowgate hostel for 2 nights. The staffs there are really nice and helpful! The kitchen is well equipped and comfortable, yet the washroom and bathroom are a bit dirty and undesirable tho... Since the location of the hostel is just opposite to a pub, there was a street performer playing guitar and singing very very loudly in Sunday until 2am, letting everyone in the dorm unable to sleep. Other than that, this is a good choice to stay in Edinburgh.
  • 66%
  • 03 May 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • LOVED the cowgate hostel! really nice flats with showers and bedrooms and a huge kitchen. Also the staff was really really lovely and helpful, it's perfectly located and so cheap. Would totally recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The receptionists, cleaning persons, and the people who staying in this hostel , I really want to say , thank you so much!
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • The hostel is perfectly situated for both - sightseeing and clubing. :)
  • 83%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Hana Czech Republic
  • Had a great stay! Staff were really lovely and helpful. The apartment styled flat we stayed in was nice and clean, and the location is great; bang in middle of Old Town. The courtyard was also a massive plus! Would definitely stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Staff spoke poor English and were extremely confused, they didn't pick up either of the listed phones, it smelled like urine in the stairs, the reception was always crammed with people and very buisy, the room was cold, there was a lot of noise and no thoughts were given to the decor whatsoever. It was, however, cheap and had a good location - but I wouldn't stay there again.
  • 49%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Lea Denmark
  • It was good for a sleep, and had good kitchens. But was very noisy and the beds unconfortable. In my opinion to expensive, but i whent while Fringe was going on, so maybe hat justifies the price.
  • 77%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »