See other Edinburgh properties

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 77% from 38 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My son stayed here when attending Highland Show in June, six of them stayed and they will definitely be booking in for next year. The Cowgate is so central to everywhere including a bus route, pubs and shops. Brilliant value for money!
  • 89%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Gillian Northern Ireland
  • I only stayed one night, it was like moving into a short term apartment. Which is nice if I stayed longer I would have very much appreciated that. The location was nice with lots of landmarks so one could easily find your way back. No real problem with noise, there was a projector screen set up across the road for the world cup so when the fans went home the noise went with them.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • fabulous hostel! all the facilities provided with a reasonable & affordable price!
  • 97%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous China
  • This hostel is very nice. They are all individual flats with two bathrooms and a kitchen. I ended up staying in two different buildings as my trip separated my days there, and both flats were very clean and well kept. The mattresses weren't the most comfortable things I have slept on; however, the location is very nice especially with three bars across the street. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking to visit Edinburgh.
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Not recommendable, when you need to sleep during the night, because you want to depart early in the morning. There was a party next door (kitchen) to the private. No staff available during the night - staircase looks more like an abandoned parking garage. Location is really good - close to all interesting places and the party zone.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Florian Germany
  • Nice place to stay. It is situated in the center, so you can easily come for a cup of tea during the day. They have no breakfasts as all hostels in Edinburgh, but there are free coffee, tea and milk at the reception. Kitchen is situated in the apartment with about 3-4 rooms in each. Good shower! :)
  • 80%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Kitchen was lacking supplies, a bit dirty. Only one shower and toilet that I could find to share with my entire floor. Beds here at Cowgate were nicer than most other hostels I stayed in on this trip, that's a plus. Front desk check in clerk was not friendly - even veering on being rude.
  • 51%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Was a brilliant stay. Stayed here quite a few times now. Always good. Staff are very helpful, accommodating and polite. The rooms were always nice and cosy. Perfect area to stay in for Edinburgh night life also. Will definitely be back again.
  • 97%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Barry
  • Our room smelled like old homeless, there were just beds and nothing else. On the wall was mould and people with some alergy should be carefull there. Only normal thing there was kitchen - really clean with dishes and not smelly like bedroom. Bathroom was without any furniture at all, hanger or rack or chair is definately in this hostel luxury. BUT! staff were really friendly, locality was more than great.I recomend it for group of people which don't want to spend there more time than for sleep.
  • 63%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anonymous Slovakia
  • I only gave poor on cleanliness as our toilet was completely blocked all night. Everything else was clean.
  • 91%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »