See other Rotorua properties

Crash Palace

1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 84% from 16 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, nicely maintained, parking right in front of the hostel but not great hospitality. Very noisy, a lots of kids running up and down the wood stairs late at night. If you want to rest at night is very hard, the music is very loud late hours. I had arrangements with the staff to book me with the local water rafting business and they never did. I was sitting down at least thirty minutes to find out that the van suppose to pick me up was never coming by. No computers working...
  • 77%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Claudia Brazil
  • drunk guys came back at 4am waking up everyone, right after staff turned on the light to count people in the room because someone was not supposed to be there in the dorm. awful night
    Owner Comment

    sorry about the people that came and woke you up it is hardly the hostels fault that they did this. I can assure you none of my staff came in to your room as i am the owner and live onsite we did have a drunk couple wake us up that night looking for somewhere to make out so maybe they told you they were staff but it was nobody that works for me. maybe try a hotel if you don't like others waking you up or earplugs this is just part and parcel of hosteling ! safe travels to you

  • 57%
  • 26 Jul 2014 CYRIL France
  • Free dinner n clean bathroom.
  • 77%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Theresa Germany
  • One of the cooler hostels around. Rooms are quite neat and there's a hot tub downstairs to use. Friendly, helpful staff. Warm, casual atmosphere. I liked the way the hostel was set up--felt like a gigantic house. Nice kitchen facilities. Overall, great place!
  • 80%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the few places in New Zealand where they give you free wifi when you stay! (if you book online). Not sure if it was the town itself, but the dorm room I stayed in STANK. Like it had a foul, sour smell that stayed with my bag and clothing even after I left the place. Maybe it was because the room felt quite humid (even though window was open). They try to do a lot of social stuff like poker night, pool competitions.
  • 74%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Had a blast at Crash Palace! Everybody working there is super nice and helpful and there is always something fun going on. It seriously just feels like a big family. I loved making friends instantly at the hostel pub crawl and the mud tour was my favorite part of Rotorua! Liked it so much I booked an extra night : ) I would highly recommend staying here.
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Amanda USA
  • This is one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had! Staff were all friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. Gorgeous patio out back with a fresh garden where they offered free tomatoes and chili, and the kitchen had all the necessary equipment. The guy at the desk said there was free pasta and rice as well! Rooms were clean with the best pillows ever. 5 minute walk away from the bus stop and Pak 'n Save, as well as the Polynesian Spa. 10/10 would do again
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2014 William USA
  • Good accomation, good value, book the mud tour with the hostel it's worth it! one of the best I did in nz !
  • 100%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Stephane France
  • Great stay, large social areas to hang out in and meet people. Good location which is easy to get around from. Staff were helpful and rooms and kitchen etc was nice and clean.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This place is great. It's really relaxing, lots of space to hang out, and they also give you free food: rice, pasta, and even organic veggies from the garden! It looks like it could be a good party place, but I'm a quiet person, and I had no problems finding peace and quiet. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and it's really close to some nice walks and also the center of town. I'd definitely stay here again.
  • 91%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »