See other Rotorua properties

Crash Palace

1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 17 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Free dinner n clean bathroom.
  • 77%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Theresa Germany
  • One of the cooler hostels around. Rooms are quite neat and there's a hot tub downstairs to use. Friendly, helpful staff. Warm, casual atmosphere. I liked the way the hostel was set up--felt like a gigantic house. Nice kitchen facilities. Overall, great place!
  • 80%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the few places in New Zealand where they give you free wifi when you stay! (if you book online). Not sure if it was the town itself, but the dorm room I stayed in STANK. Like it had a foul, sour smell that stayed with my bag and clothing even after I left the place. Maybe it was because the room felt quite humid (even though window was open). They try to do a lot of social stuff like poker night, pool competitions.
  • 74%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Had a blast at Crash Palace! Everybody working there is super nice and helpful and there is always something fun going on. It seriously just feels like a big family. I loved making friends instantly at the hostel pub crawl and the mud tour was my favorite part of Rotorua! Liked it so much I booked an extra night : ) I would highly recommend staying here.
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Amanda USA
  • This is one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had! Staff were all friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. Gorgeous patio out back with a fresh garden where they offered free tomatoes and chili, and the kitchen had all the necessary equipment. The guy at the desk said there was free pasta and rice as well! Rooms were clean with the best pillows ever. 5 minute walk away from the bus stop and Pak 'n Save, as well as the Polynesian Spa. 10/10 would do again
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2014 William USA
  • Good accomation, good value, book the mud tour with the hostel it's worth it! one of the best I did in nz !
  • 100%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Stephane France
  • Great stay, large social areas to hang out in and meet people. Good location which is easy to get around from. Staff were helpful and rooms and kitchen etc was nice and clean.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This place is great. It's really relaxing, lots of space to hang out, and they also give you free food: rice, pasta, and even organic veggies from the garden! It looks like it could be a good party place, but I'm a quiet person, and I had no problems finding peace and quiet. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and it's really close to some nice walks and also the center of town. I'd definitely stay here again.
  • 91%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • If you are staying here and they are running the mud tour - go do it! It was fun and a great way to meet other travellers whilst contributing tot he hostels charity. The beds were okay, a bit creaky. The bathrooms on our floor were under construction while we were there which made getting ready in the morning frustrating - and it was noisy. But for anyone staying now I'm sure you have super nice bathrooms to stay in.
  • 83%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Not as clean as I would have expected but overall the hostel was pleasant. Surprisingly quiet after 11pm so it was easy to sleep. Free unlimitied wifi when booked through hostels.com was a major plus!!
  • 71%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »