See other Napier properties

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

48 Emerson Street, City Centre, Napier, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 83% from 8 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • In the heart of Napier, gorgeously decorated, spacious and friendly. A generous breakfast thrown in as well... highly recommended.
  • 97%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Allison Australia
  • This place was totally fine! Close to the I-site and right in the middle of town (although town isn't much). The only true misgiving is that the kitchen and dining area seem a little chaotic and unorganized - but things still seemed clean.
  • 83%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Mallory USA
  • The art deco style makes us gping back to the past
  • 89%
  • 22 Feb 2015 Silvia Brazil
  • We really liked our stay at this hostel. The location is in the city centre and close to the visitor information centre. The style of the building is very nice. We had the feeling that we were back in the thirties. There is free basic breakfast, free WiFi and it is free to watch DVDs. The bathroom and kitchen facilities are clean. Only, there was a lack of frying pans. However, it was still possible to make a good meal. The atmosphere in the hostel was very good. Only park spots avail on street.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jan 2015 Tim Netherlands
  • Good kitchen, free breakfast, cosy atmosphere
  • 69%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The manager's a friendly guy with lots of character, just like his hostel. It seems to attract an interesting array of guests.
  • 83%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Stephen Canada
  • A little faded, but generally comfortable.
  • 63%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Jenny Canada
  • Thanks for a nice stay. Clean hostel and very friendly staff!!!
  • 91%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Merle Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »