See other Washington DC properties

DC Lofty - Convention Center

1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 66% from 25 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 54%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The service itself was not bad, yet the restrooms did not work properly and human excrement was to be found in the showers. I asked the hostel for a compensation, with no reply from their part. The rooms were very cold and not well isolated. All in all it is a very bad deal
  • 40%
  • 22 Nov 2015 Lukas Germany
  • I didn't use the kitchen and common room areas, just needed a room and bathroom as was in town for an event. No water pressure in shower, needed to put on tap in main bathroom area to get enough pressure to top floor. Light in bathroom blown and no one seamed to notice, no mirror in bedrooms so no it was difficult to get ready for my event. Perhaps this place is fine for backpackers in their early twenties who just want to meet other travelers but not much else.
  • 51%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Jennifer USA
  • We stayed in 4 beds female dorm. The bathroom was dirty full of hair, almost no soap, to get warm water in shower you need to open water in the sink. And even in that case it can be difficult to make it warm, and you get cold or very hot one. Next to our room was something that looked like a room for luggage, but it was dirty with a lot of trash.
  • 54%
  • 12 Oct 2015 DARIA Russia
  • Really have a wonderful experience here can't wait to stay here when I visit the city again
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Kelvin USA
  • I have been Traveling around what I apparently must've assumed to be my own Country since February 2011, hoping to find Peace Writing a Book after my being Beaten in a coma over a bunch of Lies! Have been trying to gain Housing in numerous Facilities, it seems that ssomeone has spreading Bogus Gossip and Lies to keeping me stranded outside, so that I can continually be Robbed, chased out ever place after City, I can't even afford it, I guess that that's what happened here too,I never made it in
  • 49%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I don't think this hostel was worth my money. The facilities were poor and the staff seemed to have a better place to be when I arrived and didn't show me where any facilities were and the rules etc. The shower downstairs was very poor as was the restroom.
  • 37%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Elliot England
  • The hostel must close its front desk and did not inform us. Who tried to gain access at 1am. Luckily we were saved by another guest who opened the door for us.
  • 91%
  • 09 Jul 2015 George Australia
  • The staff were very friendly and welcoming, even carrying my heavy suitcase up the stairs. I hadn`t booked any accommodation in Washington, forgetting that it was a long weekend. Luckily Dc Lofty had a single room for two nights. The only negative comment would be the lack of air conditioning in my room. It was hot overnight. Apart from that, excellent value for money.
  • 83%
  • 24 May 2015 andrea
  • No hot water! I have to take shower every two or three days! The room and facilities are very old and the bed is not clean. I lived in the basement rooms but it became very cold at night. Restrooms are small and there is no place to hang my clothes or anything. I would not recommend this, unless you have no other place to choose.
  • 46%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Anonymous China
  • Reasonable price, but towel is tacky and bath room is unclean.
  • 60%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »