See other Washington DC properties

DC Lofty - Convention Center

1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 70% from 30 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No hot water! Very bad pillows! Good area, close to lots of places
  • 46%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Lacey
  • The location at this place is fantastic and the atmosphere was okay. However, my room was in the basement and this past weekend was awfully hot and it was extremely stuffy down there. There was no air flow. There also wasn't any mirrors in any of the bathrooms down there for some reason and it was extremely inconvenient. The beds were squeaky and the pillows were really flat like another reviewer mentioned so bring your own! Otherwise, it was worth the price and definitely for the location.
  • 80%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Check in closes absurdly early. Never received reply to an important email asking for late check-in.
  • 20%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Julia
  • Honestly, the hostel in general was very unattractive and uninviting, that I went elsewhere after paying for two nights and checking in.
  • 43%
  • 29 Jul 2014 David USA
  • If you just want a bed with at good location and a low price choose this if you want more find another place. The rooms is really small. The Bath is in a really bad condition and the aircondition could not cool down the room .
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The security and location for the hotel is fine, though it concerned me that my luggage was left in an unlocked room while I waited for check-in. When I received my room, at the top of the building, it was hot and unclean. My sheets had dirt on them and there was no air conditioning in the room. I told the front desk and they seemed unconcerned, telling me that their room was also hot, so that I had to "deal with it".
  • 34%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked 2 nights and when I arrived there was no AC in my room (as advertised as an amenity) A few hours later the manager came in with a handy man to install an AC but it kept shorting out and the manager left for the night and left our room without AC all night. Ended up opening the fire escape door for some air movement but that still wasn't enough and I had to sleep on the fire escape to avoid overheating. The next day the AC was installed but dripped on my mattress all night. I was soaked.
  • 31%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Jessica USA
  • The staff consists in one creepy guy that is very strict with timing (10a-10p) and doesn't allow you to use the facilities on your own: he starts and stops the laundry (yes, your clothes!) when he has time to sit there by. Some facilities as the free pancakes 24 h are fake: not even during breakfast time! In addition to this, almost every hostel host is over 40 years old...kind of weird for this kind of places, and also the atmosphere, as a result, is not that good. It's not super clean either.
  • 43%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Giovanni
  • It was my first experience with hostels: I found it to be a great opportunity to meet fascinating people, who like me, were enjoying the"experience" rather than comfort. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Shoes were not allowed, but slippers were provided. Kitchen was clean and modernized.Our bathrooms were kept very clean, but the water never got quite hot enough and the 2nd shower had no hot water at all. Overall, very good experience.
  • 83%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Esther USA
  • The staff was by far my favorite part about the hostel. They were so welcoming and helpful. Wish the shower pressure was better in order to avoid getting stuck in the shower with cold water as I shampooed my hair. Other than this, my overall experience was pretty good.
  • 91%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »