See other Fez properties

Dar Lalla Kenza

5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener, Medina Fez, Fez, Morocco, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 84% from 11 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really enjoyed my time in this hostel! The atmosphere was awesome and the location was great. Only the bathrooms weren't clean, but that is not a big problem
  • 91%
  • 20 Jan 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • During my stay (December 2014) the place was undergoing a major restoration (inconvenient but necessary); hopefully that will be completed by spring 2015. The staff was very friendly and always gave me great advice about the territory. My favorite thing about Dar Lalla Kenza is the rooftop view: I ate breakfast there everyday. Also, if you're willing to spend a little extra, I recommend one extravagant dinner at Restaurant Palais La Medina, less than two minutes walk from Dar Lalla Kenza.
  • 80%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Jeff USA
  • At first we loved this hostel - very authentic and amazing decor. The owner was friendly and helpful until we realised he ripped us off big time. Our camel safari cost €200 each! After talking with other travellers doing the same thing who only paid €80 we were angry to say the least. The hostels location was good however, nice and central in the old medina. Breakfast wasn't my favourite - a sweet bread Hun with very sweet mint tea and a tiny warm yoghurt. Lovely rooftop view n
  • 71%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Madeleine Australia
  • So, when I got to Fes, I was curious about this Ben everyone was talking about and now that I stayed for 2 nights, I must agree. Ben is a great and easy-going host you feel comfortable with from the start! I had arrived just before Ramadan began, so his beautiful, perfectly-located Riad was rather calm with not too many travellers around. Nevertheless, I had a good time while I stayed there and you will have, too!
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Probably best place I've ever stayed in! Inside medina, staff is funtastic and helpful, tasty fresh breakfast made for you, great views on roof tarrace! Rooms in moroccan style, shops, caffe, taxi, bus stop all near by. Taxi from train/bus station costs less than 2euros! Old Fes is a must see! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AND WILL STAY AGAIN! Greetings from UK, Thank you, Morocco was great! Victor
  • 100%
  • 22 May 2014 Victor Poland
  • Beautiful building with an incredible terrace. The owner, Ben, is a bit of a schmoozer but cooks a mean breakfast and is a very nice guy. Well worth the money.
  • 80%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A really nice place, Ben is also a really accommodating person who is always trying to find a solution which suits with your wishes. The place is really clean, breakfast nice and the terrace of the roof just amazing ;)
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »