See other Hong Kong properties

Day and Night Hostel

Flat D8 & E2, Block D & E, 10/F, Chungking Mansions,40 Nathan Road,Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Distance from city centre: 12.9km

Rating: 82% from 12 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • While the room was nice, other than being small, we did not like being located in the Chunking Mansions. The elevator and stairs to get up were awful. It was also strange that our stuff was gone through and folded. We were helped well when we needed things, but would have liked to have our towels replaced without being asked. Also, we did not appreciate that the airconditioning could not be controlled for temperature and when we asked for maintenance, it was not done the first time.
  • 51%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent front desk staff
  • 100%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • lovely service, clean and neat!! rooms are fantastic and the sowers are lovely with hot water.
  • 100%
  • 19 May 2015 Juanita South Africa
  • Very satisfying in total. Especially my consierge, Harry, did a great job and helped me professionally with every issue I had.
  • 86%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Jan Switzerland
  • i spend two night in that gueshouse and the people need to understand that they are paying 13dls per night in hong kong, the building is crazy but the location is perfect, the bus stop and the train station is in front of the building. and the people that working there are so nice and they told you everything, also is clean, the room are small, but that place is design for spend the day in the street, any way i recommend that place
  • 94%
  • 08 Apr 2015 brenda
  • Very friendly staff - especially Love and Chris were doing an excellent job, making sure that everyone feels comfortable and happy!
  • 89%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Jonas Germany
  • I definitely recommend this hostel!! it's clean , good location and specially the stuff is great!!! they really look after you and is what it makes the different , Hong Kong is a busy city, and accommodations are small and expensive with not many facilities but this hostel has clean room with great facilities and a great stuff that will surely make u feel home... all for a great price!
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Simone Italy
  • This hostel is in the Chung King Mansion, which has literally dozens of "hostels" comprised of small rooms with beds for rent. No common space, no lockers, but they do have safes. The room I stayed in didn't have a key, it was one room in a hall of about 4 rooms, and that hall was controlled by an access code -- but anyone could get to that door, and I think that if I went back next week, I could go to that room with the same access code. But the bed was clean and comfortable.
  • 74%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This is your typical Chungking mansions hostel and you basically get what you pay for. Unfortunately, there is one reason I won't stay here again - there was only one WC, basin and shower situated all in one room - so you can imagine how much waiting there was!
  • 66%
  • 03 Nov 2014 Terezie
  • The hostel is in a giant building that is like a super-big Indian shop, very very crowdy and consfusing. In the night it is a little dangerous since outside the building there are lots of dangerous people tryng to sell you drugs. But once you arrive to the hostel (10 floor) it's better. The staff is really nice, helpful and patient. The rooms are clean, bathroom ok but we dind't have hot water for the shower. Obviously the room were very very small, but at this price it's the best you can find.
  • 51%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Antonio Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »