See other Hong Kong properties

Day and Night Hostel

Flat D8 & E2, Block D & E, 10/F, Chungking Mansions,40 Nathan Road,Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Distance from city centre: 12.9km

Rating: 81% from 12 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall, i got my moneys worth staying at Day and Night Hostel. David was extremely welcoming, accommodating, and nice to talk to. I felt relatively safe with all the locked doors - but on the other hand, it is not easy to navigate through the building as there are tens of different hostels all in one high rise. Furthermore, the atmosphere is more like one of a low budget hotel and not a hostel. There are no common areas to meet other travelers.
  • 60%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Sherry and Deep were very friendly, they allowed me to stay slightly past the checkout time and allowed me to store my luggage after checkout. great staff.
  • 77%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous Indonesia
  • While the room was nice, other than being small, we did not like being located in the Chunking Mansions. The elevator and stairs to get up were awful. It was also strange that our stuff was gone through and folded. We were helped well when we needed things, but would have liked to have our towels replaced without being asked. Also, we did not appreciate that the airconditioning could not be controlled for temperature and when we asked for maintenance, it was not done the first time.
  • 51%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent front desk staff
  • 100%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • lovely service, clean and neat!! rooms are fantastic and the sowers are lovely with hot water.
  • 100%
  • 19 May 2015 Juanita South Africa
  • Very satisfying in total. Especially my consierge, Harry, did a great job and helped me professionally with every issue I had.
  • 86%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Jan Switzerland
  • i spend two night in that gueshouse and the people need to understand that they are paying 13dls per night in hong kong, the building is crazy but the location is perfect, the bus stop and the train station is in front of the building. and the people that working there are so nice and they told you everything, also is clean, the room are small, but that place is design for spend the day in the street, any way i recommend that place
  • 94%
  • 08 Apr 2015 brenda
  • Very friendly staff - especially Love and Chris were doing an excellent job, making sure that everyone feels comfortable and happy!
  • 89%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Jonas Germany
  • I definitely recommend this hostel!! it's clean , good location and specially the stuff is great!!! they really look after you and is what it makes the different , Hong Kong is a busy city, and accommodations are small and expensive with not many facilities but this hostel has clean room with great facilities and a great stuff that will surely make u feel home... all for a great price!
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Simone Italy
  • This hostel is in the Chung King Mansion, which has literally dozens of "hostels" comprised of small rooms with beds for rent. No common space, no lockers, but they do have safes. The room I stayed in didn't have a key, it was one room in a hall of about 4 rooms, and that hall was controlled by an access code -- but anyone could get to that door, and I think that if I went back next week, I could go to that room with the same access code. But the bed was clean and comfortable.
  • 74%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »