See other London properties

Destinations at The Rose & Crown

65 Union Street, Borough, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 87% from 23 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great stay, great friendly staff and service. They are definitely trying hard and have spent a lot of money to make this hostel welcoming and accomodating. The USB plugs did not work for my bed so they swapped my bed. The shower head was leaking at the base but it was fixed during stay. The bathroom sink faucet design is a bit awkward to use for washing your face.
  • 94%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Hands down the best hostel I have ever stayed in (and I've spent a year traveling and staying in hostels around the world). Not to oversell it, I loved it because it is exactly everything you need and nothing more. It isn't gimmicky, the staff are very kind and intelligent, the pub below is a lovely hang out, clean, great short walk to a good tube line. Great value for money. It's uniqueness is it's at-home feel, I felt like I was staying at a travelers Inn. I'll be back! Thanks you!
  • 100%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Jesica USA
  • The showers were very small. Staff was nice. Liked that there was a bar there. To me that was the common area. There was a lot of noise from the street. Maybe something can be done with the windows to let the sound of traffic and construction to be blocked out. I had a nice stay there, but my friend told me she got something on her body that itched while staying two nights there. All in all it was an ok stay for a short while in London. Breakfast was good. :)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we are planning to install secondry glazing, as for your friends itching we are sure that it was not any bugs as the room was treated only a couple of weeks before and we look into any incidents and treat the rooms yearly where they need them or not, thank you for your comments.

  • 77%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous Norway
  • Bathrooms are tiny and a bit...odd. The room was clean and decent-sized. There are a few pubs in the area, so it is a bit loud until people start going home. When the London Underground isn't screwed up, it's really easy to get to from King's Cross St Pancras.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for choosing Destinations Hostels, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy ytour time with us or your trip to London, our bathrooms while small are big enough to wash and get changed in and the noise from the pub downstairs is not loud and is no worse than background sound, we are in a very busy city, the London underground system is one of the best in the world and we have no more strikes than any other systems anywhere in the world, thank you for your comments.

  • 77%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Peter USA
  • I enjoyed my stay, it has a nice breakfast and the location is perfect.
  • 86%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • I felt very well taken care of. I slept well, the beds were comfortable and clean with a curtain for privacy in a shared room. The hospitality was excellent as well as fun to hang out in the pub on the ground floor. The breakfast was plentiful and varied (something for everyone). It was safe and the location was excellent.
  • 91%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Faythe USA
  • Very comfortable bed
  • 86%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Kathryn USA
  • The room was set a little on the small side for 6 people and the showers were a little small but otherwise very good hostel. Great breakfast food. Thanks!
  • 91%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice location and atmosphere. No keys, just different securitiy code for each door. Breakfast was okay. Very friendly staff. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm and each bed had a curtain. Really like that, so you have some privacy and it's much easier to sleep. Room was unfortunately very hot.But it's summer.At least the window was open and they had a fan that was running throughout the night. When I put my luggage in the storage room they did not put any name tag on it Btw, I only stayed one night.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Roman Germany
  • I had a good time in this hostel, staff is friendly and helpfull.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Anonymous Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »