See other Rio de Janeiro properties

Discovery Hostel

Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Distance from city centre: 6.1km

Rating: 96% from 15 reviews

  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Probably one of the best hostels i have been to. The staff was absolutely amazing. On check in, the girl at the front desk sat 30 minutes with me going over a map of rio and all the places to see and things to do (not just the tourist things, but the local things too). The hostel had a bunch of different tours going on during the week (some free, some $). very social hostel, beds are super comfy. everything is soooo clean. There is no question in my mind, if i come back to rio, i will stay again
  • 100%
  • 11 Nov 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Definitely the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff genuinely care about you as a guest and person, and do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay with them and in Rio. The hostel is small and cozy so it makes it very easy to meet other travelers. They arrange daytrips and nights out and they basically help with everything you need, from excursions to places to eat out. Free breakfast is amazing, rooms have A/C and the showers have hot water. Absolutely a 5 star hostel!
  • 94%
  • 04 Nov 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • Excellent breakfast (especially the banana cake) Friendly staff Good atmopshere to meet new people Very clean
  • 100%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Best hostel in rio.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • It was a great place to stay. A little noisy at night, but I was always so tired that it didn't matter. Did have a problem with the ATMs in the subway station nearby. I'd recommend getting enough cash at the airport so you don't have to use the nearby ATMs.
  • 94%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Nancy USA
  • Totally amazing. I felt safe and very much at home. It is exceptionally clean and the staff are very supportive and helpful. The overall vibe was filled with both fun and quiet time. I'd recommend this spot to anyone.
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2015 Neely USA
  • LOVED this hostel! The staff was great and all friendly, they had several tours to choose from so it made it easy to explore. They also took us on a tour to the stadium and it was amazing! Breakfast was great with homebaked caked. Met a lot of amazing people and the location was great. short walk to Lapa. They also had a marker over the weekend down the street with lots of fresh fruit and food. We also went out for a few nights and the staff accompanied us. I loved my stay in Rio!
  • 100%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Yolanda USA
  • Beautiful hostel, nicely decorated and well maintained. Super friendly staff and easy to meet people. Nice breakfast and located 1-min for Gloria metro station. Can get crowded with nearly 25 guests and 4 bathrooms but it wasn't a real problem. If you are a girl, go for the girls dorm as it is more spacious than the mixed dorm and it has an ensuite bathroom.
  • 86%
  • 04 Apr 2015 CAROLINE TO NGA France
  • O Hostel é legal, bem localizado atmosfera boa, a unica ressalva fica em relação ao horário do café da manhã das 8:30 as 10:30, deveria ser mais cedo The hostel is cool, nice place, close metro gloria, good workers very friendly, unique thing i didnt like was about time of breakfast 8:30 to 10:30, should be eralier in my opinion
  • 97%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Awesome people and location. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Chanda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »