See other Rio de Janeiro properties

Discovery Hostel

Rua Benjamin Constant 26, Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Distance from city centre: 6.1km

Rating: 96% from 19 reviews

  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 95%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent breakfast (especially the banana cake) Friendly staff Good atmopshere to meet new people Very clean
  • 100%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Best hostel in rio.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • It was a great place to stay. A little noisy at night, but I was always so tired that it didn't matter. Did have a problem with the ATMs in the subway station nearby. I'd recommend getting enough cash at the airport so you don't have to use the nearby ATMs.
  • 94%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Nancy USA
  • Totally amazing. I felt safe and very much at home. It is exceptionally clean and the staff are very supportive and helpful. The overall vibe was filled with both fun and quiet time. I'd recommend this spot to anyone.
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2015 Neely USA
  • Beautiful hostel, nicely decorated and well maintained. Super friendly staff and easy to meet people. Nice breakfast and located 1-min for Gloria metro station. Can get crowded with nearly 25 guests and 4 bathrooms but it wasn't a real problem. If you are a girl, go for the girls dorm as it is more spacious than the mixed dorm and it has an ensuite bathroom.
  • 86%
  • 04 Apr 2015 CAROLINE TO NGA France
  • O Hostel é legal, bem localizado atmosfera boa, a unica ressalva fica em relação ao horário do café da manhã das 8:30 as 10:30, deveria ser mais cedo The hostel is cool, nice place, close metro gloria, good workers very friendly, unique thing i didnt like was about time of breakfast 8:30 to 10:30, should be eralier in my opinion
  • 97%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Awesome people and location. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Chanda USA
  • Latino América's best hostel award and I could see why, everything is perfect and the staff is really friendly. Now I just have great memories and lots of new friends
  • 100%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Hostel is good, near subway, good breakfast, clean and you feel safe. You dont even feel that you need padlocks here and everyone behaves like they are at home. I feel they could have more bathrooms and there are two showers very near each other that I didnt like. They told me they had hairdryers for free, but I could not find them and I didnt take mine because of that. beds are confortable and clean and the locker is very big so you can fit almost anything in there.
  • 97%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great Hostel, great location near the subway. Very friendly staff. Nice beds and structure. I will definetely come back. Ótimo Hostel, com uma localização maravilhosa, muito perto do Metrô. Funcionários muito amigáveis, com fluência em inglês e português. Camas muito boas, quartos com ar condicionado. Com certeza é um hostel que vou voltar.
  • 83%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »