See other London properties

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

6a Great Dover Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 68% from 28 reviews

  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was cheap and close to everything. I choose only to look at the positive things!
  • 51%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Laila Denmark
  • my second time here, they are very nice, there is a bar downstairs, you get a free beer when you get there.
  • 97%
  • 01 Mar 2016 ELENA Mexico
  • Excellent expirience! Hope to repeat!
  • 89%
  • 15 Feb 2016 sara Spain
  • great hostel (for that price) - I was really surprised! Helpful staff, 24h reception, good rooms/beds, good breakfast (toast, cereals and sometimes even fruits), great location (just down borough underground station)
  • 91%
  • 23 Jan 2016 Anonymous Austria
  • its too dirty and smell so bad even after they clean, its the most horrible place i ever been, the staff are not nice, the doors doesn't work and the walls are also dirty.
  • 40%
  • 29 Oct 2015 Rosa Elena Mexico
  • very good hostel. and wonderful staff
  • 91%
  • 22 Oct 2015 gesim Ireland
  • We were a group of six who stayed in multiple hostels on this trip (Paris, Barcelona, London, South Hampton) and this place hands down was the worst I have ever seen in 30 years of travelling (I have photos if required). The place smelled so bad, the showers were so dirty nobody wanted to shower. There was water leaking onto one of the beds, condom wrappers on the bathroom floor. There is a sign asking to report in clean conditions to the staff, when I did I was told "cleaning is in the morning"
  • 29%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The location is great. So is the rooms. But the toilets could get cleaned more often.
  • 69%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Jennifer Switzerland
  • Good hostel in Borough, nice team in the bar and good music ! There is a bar but no noise in the room, at the second floor. It is cleaned everyday so property is OK. Cheap beer ! (pint of Carling : £UK 2,80). Something special, the reception is downstairs (level - 1).
  • 80%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Anonymous France
  • As any old buildings in London don't expect too much but it is central as it gets, especially for the riverside explorations and the city. Staff could be a little more on he smiley side but I guess it is the bunker like reception and the lack of daylight that makes them a little if not unfriendly not too friendly. Check-in time 14h is a joke of course. Under the line the reason to stay here is location and if it is more than 10GBP shop around for better deals.
  • 69%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Jani Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »