See other London properties

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

6a Great Dover Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 71% from 30 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is a good value for super-expensive London. It's about a 20-minute Tube ride from the major sights, but that's not a problem at all, as there's a Tube station within a 1 minute walk of the hostel. The free breakfast was basic but well-appreciated, as it meant I didn't have to spend more money. My only quibble is the fact that the rooms are right over the bar, and even though the ceiling is well insulated, you can still hear some dulled out music from the bar below.
  • 77%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very poor conditions in terms of shower and toilets. Not very friendly staff. Place smells in many parts and overall is not clean. Beds are very uncomfortable. If not for the price, I would not stay there and would not recommend it to anyone. Breakfast (included) is a joke. I am very dissatisfied.
  • 49%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Marcin Poland
  • Terrible service , internet don't work in rooms
  • 49%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Kevin Brazil
  • Showers are very bad and not enough. Not every toilette you can wash your hand. Location is very good.
  • 71%
  • 14 Oct 2014 HEE SUN South Korea
  • Very well located. Lots of pubs, coffee houses, subway station and other useful facilities around. Has a pub on the first floor, which for me is a bonus, but the stairs are the worst, mostly because the check-in is on the basement and the rooms are from the second floor up. Really didn't mind the security myself, but one girl in my room had her laptop stolen. The staff really tried to help her, but bottomline is, the laptop was missing. Not very clean, specially the bathrooms.
  • 69%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great location near to tube stations and the city centre. Staff very helpful and obliging. Breakfasts very plentiful. Showers need a bit of working on, but it is an old building and I guess that the hostel company is on to this. Surrounding area a little bit sketchy, but you can resolve this by getting taxis back late at night. At all other times, walking from the tube station is fine.
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very bad shower.
  • 66%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I liked this hostel about breakfast, kitchen(common room), and wifi :D Very good location. You can walk for 1 minute from Borough station to this hostel.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great staff. Had good suggestions and always approachable. Their laundry service is a GREAT DEAL! For the location, it could be better but at least it is located next to a underground stop so you can get anywhere quickly. The showers were kind of annoying because you had to press a button over and over again like you are using a sink.
  • 86%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was really helpful, and the place was really cool. Nice to have the pub downstairs to meet people from London and other people from the hostel. The room was a bit overwhelmingly hot, but other than that, a nice place!
  • 80%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »