See other London properties

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

6a Great Dover Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 65% from 25 reviews

  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • When we had question that are WiFi and travel informations, they didn't answer us.they were played computer and chatting.
  • 54%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • It was OK: easy to get to from the Tube station, and the bathrooms (2 toilets, one shower) on the third floor were OK. On the second floor in one of the toilets they didn't have a wash basin to wash your hands, only in the shower which was occupied in the mornings. Stayed there for three nights, wouldn't mind going again if nothing better came up (like winning the lottery and staying in a hostel next time).
  • 63%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Saila Finland
  • The bathroom was really filthy. Plus, I had to share the room with a homeless guy. He entered the room in the middle of the night shooting. He wasn't agressive but had a weird behavior. Being a girl and a solo traveller, I hardly slept because I didn't feel safe. What I truly didn’t appreciate was the staff's reaction when I mentioned that I had been afraid all night long. They tried to make me feel guilty probably because they thought I was going to ask for a refund.
  • 26%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous France
  • Good basic stay
  • 74%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Its ok hostel.
  • 49%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Jannik Denmark
  • The hostel is a good value for super-expensive London. It's about a 20-minute Tube ride from the major sights, but that's not a problem at all, as there's a Tube station within a 1 minute walk of the hostel. The free breakfast was basic but well-appreciated, as it meant I didn't have to spend more money. My only quibble is the fact that the rooms are right over the bar, and even though the ceiling is well insulated, you can still hear some dulled out music from the bar below.
  • 77%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very poor conditions in terms of shower and toilets. Not very friendly staff. Place smells in many parts and overall is not clean. Beds are very uncomfortable. If not for the price, I would not stay there and would not recommend it to anyone. Breakfast (included) is a joke. I am very dissatisfied.
  • 49%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Marcin Poland
  • Terrible service , internet don't work in rooms
  • 49%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Kevin Brazil
  • Showers are very bad and not enough. Not every toilette you can wash your hand. Location is very good.
  • 71%
  • 14 Oct 2014 HEE SUN South Korea
  • Very well located. Lots of pubs, coffee houses, subway station and other useful facilities around. Has a pub on the first floor, which for me is a bonus, but the stairs are the worst, mostly because the check-in is on the basement and the rooms are from the second floor up. Really didn't mind the security myself, but one girl in my room had her laptop stolen. The staff really tried to help her, but bottomline is, the laptop was missing. Not very clean, specially the bathrooms.
  • 69%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »