See other London properties

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

6a Great Dover Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 75% from 22 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Showers are very bad and not enough. Not every toilette you can wash your hand. Location is very good.
  • 71%
  • 14 Oct 2014 HEE SUN South Korea
  • Very well located. Lots of pubs, coffee houses, subway station and other useful facilities around. Has a pub on the first floor, which for me is a bonus, but the stairs are the worst, mostly because the check-in is on the basement and the rooms are from the second floor up. Really didn't mind the security myself, but one girl in my room had her laptop stolen. The staff really tried to help her, but bottomline is, the laptop was missing. Not very clean, specially the bathrooms.
  • 69%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great location near to tube stations and the city centre. Staff very helpful and obliging. Breakfasts very plentiful. Showers need a bit of working on, but it is an old building and I guess that the hostel company is on to this. Surrounding area a little bit sketchy, but you can resolve this by getting taxis back late at night. At all other times, walking from the tube station is fine.
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very bad shower.
  • 66%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I liked this hostel about breakfast, kitchen(common room), and wifi :D Very good location. You can walk for 1 minute from Borough station to this hostel.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great staff. Had good suggestions and always approachable. Their laundry service is a GREAT DEAL! For the location, it could be better but at least it is located next to a underground stop so you can get anywhere quickly. The showers were kind of annoying because you had to press a button over and over again like you are using a sink.
  • 86%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was really helpful, and the place was really cool. Nice to have the pub downstairs to meet people from London and other people from the hostel. The room was a bit overwhelmingly hot, but other than that, a nice place!
  • 80%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a very good hostel! I liked the staff, the location. It was 2 steps away from the Borough station. All the centre of London is just beside you. The breakfast was poor, however I overlived it. The internet connection is good only in the bar and the 2nd floor. The shower zone is tidy, but the shower can't be taken in the hand, the tap is on the wall, what is not very nice. I had no problems with keeping my baggage, however I would recommend the hostel to get a bigger lockers.
  • 86%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • You cannot find better hostel than here. Actually, because of the equipment for security it make me feel a little bit annoyed. Anyway it means security in here is that good. Borough station is just 1 minutes walking distance from here, and 1st floor party-party but I can hardly hear any sound at the top floor where I stayed. Nice! and also 10 pound per night- in the center of the london.
  • 97%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The Dover Hostel is a great place to stay when you are travelling on a budget. the beds are clean and fairly comfortable, there are lockers available for low prices and the staff is very friendly. The showers were fairly clean although they had very little water pressure, but the water was fairly warm. The hostel is a 3 minute walk from the closest tube and easy to find. If I come back to London I would definitely stay at this hostel again.
  • 91%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Kristina Estonia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »