See other London properties

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar

6a Great Dover Street, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 63% from 29 reviews

  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • its too dirty and smell so bad even after they clean, its the most horrible place i ever been, the staff are not nice, the doors doesn't work and the walls are also dirty.
  • 40%
  • 29 Oct 2015 Rosa Elena Mexico
  • very good hostel. and wonderful staff
  • 91%
  • 22 Oct 2015 gesim Ireland
  • We were a group of six who stayed in multiple hostels on this trip (Paris, Barcelona, London, South Hampton) and this place hands down was the worst I have ever seen in 30 years of travelling (I have photos if required). The place smelled so bad, the showers were so dirty nobody wanted to shower. There was water leaking onto one of the beds, condom wrappers on the bathroom floor. There is a sign asking to report in clean conditions to the staff, when I did I was told "cleaning is in the morning"
  • 29%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The location is great. So is the rooms. But the toilets could get cleaned more often.
  • 69%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Jennifer Switzerland
  • Good hostel in Borough, nice team in the bar and good music ! There is a bar but no noise in the room, at the second floor. It is cleaned everyday so property is OK. Cheap beer ! (pint of Carling : £UK 2,80). Something special, the reception is downstairs (level - 1).
  • 80%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Anonymous France
  • As any old buildings in London don't expect too much but it is central as it gets, especially for the riverside explorations and the city. Staff could be a little more on he smiley side but I guess it is the bunker like reception and the lack of daylight that makes them a little if not unfriendly not too friendly. Check-in time 14h is a joke of course. Under the line the reason to stay here is location and if it is more than 10GBP shop around for better deals.
  • 69%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Jani Austria
  • Wifi only worked if you sat on the stairs by the lobby, there were two showers and two toilets for the entire third floor. Showers only have cold water.
  • 51%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • When we had question that are WiFi and travel informations, they didn't answer us.they were played computer and chatting.
  • 54%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • It was OK: easy to get to from the Tube station, and the bathrooms (2 toilets, one shower) on the third floor were OK. On the second floor in one of the toilets they didn't have a wash basin to wash your hands, only in the shower which was occupied in the mornings. Stayed there for three nights, wouldn't mind going again if nothing better came up (like winning the lottery and staying in a hostel next time).
  • 63%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Saila Finland
  • The bathroom was really filthy. Plus, I had to share the room with a homeless guy. He entered the room in the middle of the night shooting. He wasn't agressive but had a weird behavior. Being a girl and a solo traveller, I hardly slept because I didn't feel safe. What I truly didn’t appreciate was the staff's reaction when I mentioned that I had been afraid all night long. They tried to make me feel guilty probably because they thought I was going to ask for a refund.
  • 26%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »