See other Bratislava properties

Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava

Panenska 31, Bratislava, Slovakia, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 84% from 11 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The unique selling point is the location - so central and only a 5min bus ride to the main station. The hostel which I had actually stayed in 7 years before but didn't realise when I booked this time is definitely for the younger set. It has a charm of its own but I found the stairway cluttered with beer barrels and electrical cables. It is not suitable for people with a disability as it is on several levels. The facilities are only just adequate and need refurbishing.
  • 71%
  • 07 Sep 2013 John England
  • The location is so perfect,only 5 mins from the city center.
  • 91%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Nice double bedroom with private balcon. The beds linen are a little bit old (you can see through and not because all of the holes in it). Helpful staff and hostel well situated in a quiet street.
  • 77%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • Good showers room clean with lockers and fun room names. Free welcome drink was most appreciated good value drinks at the bar. Only short walk or tram to the old city. Overall would recomend as good place to stay.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous England
  • Very fun place, great staff, and excellent location. Bianca if you see this thanks for making our visit awesome!
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • Amazing hostel. Awesome staff, super social. Also, they had a restaurant and a bar downstairs that were actually affordable for backpackers. Kitchen was nice, free washer/dryer too. Games and books in their common area.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel, good atmosphere and location very close to the old town. My friend and I stayed in a private room, it was very nice. Toilets and shower rooms are ok. There's a nice bar/restaurant at the hostel, but don't trust the people in the reception to know the restaurant's opening hours. In general, the Slovakian people we met could have been more friendly and helpfull.
  • 69%
  • 24 Jun 2013 Anonymous Norway
  • The hostel was great. It seems like its popular with the local people there. So you can grab a beer and relax in their courtyard. The food is also really cheap. The location is just a few minutes from the old town. Its was a great stay.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »