See other Washington DC properties

Downtown Washington Hostel

506 H Street NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 3km

Rating: 82% from 102 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff were nice (Jude in particular). Good location, comfy beds. Hostel showing a bit of wear and tear and could do with a bit of sprucing up, but no major concerns. All round good stay.
  • 83%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • Good : clean friendly stuff☆★☆ almost perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dislike: little far from central(45min on foot), and until check-in(3-clock)I cannot stay hostel even common space.
  • 83%
  • 14 Apr 2014 ERI Japan
  • It was my second stay there. I like this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 MUTHANA
  • I liked the Hostel it was good for what we pay, it's a few blocks from Union Station that make things easier, I didn't like two things 1. Why do we have to take out our shoes to enter? If it's because of the noise maybe it's ok 2. There were not enough bathrooms for everybody so you have to wake up earlier only to wait for the bathroom... BUT The staff was really cool and helpful, everything was really clean and the location was good too. Thank you for everything
  • 86%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • Friendly staff, great atmosphere. Highly recommended.
  • 91%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Nishit India
  • I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hostel!! I entered DC with no expectations other then exploring all the sights and taking large amounts of pictures. So I was completely surprised and delighted with how warm the staff and the other people staying there were! I was giving very precise and helpful directions to many of the free sights in the surrounding the area while they offered a night activity at the hostel as a ice breaker. I really had lots of fun and made quite a few new friends.
  • 86%
  • 14 Mar 2014 crystle USA
  • Good, clean and super friendly and in a quiet location, but to small in space, to much travellers and to less Toilettes Bathrooms. 7:30am and you have no chance for a Shower.Early Birds are the winner. ReceptionCommon Room and Kitchen are very small and close to the sleeping Rooms (specially the Staff sleeping Rooms)."The Law" of quiet hours from 10pm to 10am(!) are strictly on the dot+ no Alcohol at this Time! That supress the mood of a Traveller! No Computers and No Laundry Service also.
  • 77%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Enrico Germany
  • Hostel was clean, with good staff, and a great location in DC I would definitely stay there again
  • 83%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Kaleb USA
  • They went through my bags when I was gone. They do not allow food in the rooms (which is fine) However, they claimed they were "cleaning the room" (it was not cleaned once the 3 days I was there) When I got back to the hostel one night they called me into the kitchen and gave me a bag with 2 nutrigrain bars I had in the bottom of my suitcase. So, I am not happy that they went through my luggage while I was gone, and tried to lie about the reason.
  • 80%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Sienna USA
  • Downtown Washington Hostel is really a great place to stay! Nice staff (always available, very friendly), rooms and bathrooms always clean, good location, close from the main station,... A place where you fill like home !!
  • 94%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Giunti France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »