See other Beijing properties

Dragon King Hostel

No.78, Dongsi Jiutiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 90% from 23 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall solid good. Nothing excellent, but pleasant experience without any trouble. I would really recommend changing the bar/cafe layout. I rarely saw people spending a lot of time there, but I did see a lot of advertisements around trying to get people to spend time there. I think what is really needed is for there to be COMFORTABLE seating there, so that people feel they can bring there computer and sit, chat, catch up on e-mails, etc. Right now the stools/tables are not comfortable at all.
  • 80%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Rebecca USA
  • An ok stay at the dragon King.... The rooms were pretty good and the curtains on beds were a bonus. Don't plan on doing laundry here though as they charge an absurd amount when compared to other hostels throughout China. The staff were all really helpful minus one girl and the tour to the great wall was organized well. An ok hostel for sure, just don't expect anything special... Oo, also the bar policy should change to at least allow people to eat food in there without having to buy the hostels'
  • 74%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I didn´t like the wifi that much and the commun areas are not so big. But some people in the recepetion they are really friendly.
  • 91%
  • 08 Sep 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • In a classic neighborhood and conveniently near a subway stop, but there are other hostels closer to the main attractions in the center of the city.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • nice place for youth. Nice staff with good english. Close to subway.
  • 83%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very nice, friendly place to stay. The everyone was helpful and courteous. Everything was excellent!
  • 97%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, speak very good english. Very cool location, right by subway and close to a lot of good food. There is also a very good bar and restaurant at the hostel, good breakfast, lunch and dinner. They have recommodations of the various sights in Beijing and around, and how to get there, and you can book all tours to The Great Wall, Kung Fu Shows etc. in the reception. But best of all is the location in that ally, so very typical chinese. I´ll definitely go back there.
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2015 Bjarni Denmark
  • Great hostel in Beijing, right next to a subway station and walking distance to sights like the Confucian Temple and the Lama Temple. I arranged a Mutianyu Great Wall Tour with them and it was excellent, they also arrange tours to other attractions. The staff was super friendly and helpful, Andy, Peach, Candy, all of them a big help with directions to sights and places to eat.
  • 100%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Victor USA
  • Most helpful staff, all very friendly. Clean facility, close to everything.
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Annette Canada
  • The Dragon King is one of the best hostels that i have ever stayed at, I had booked a private room for three nights and extended that to 10 nights. the location is excellent, right next to the metro station and within walking distance of many of the attractions in Beijing.The front desk staff speak very good english and will help you fond your way around. The bar staff are great and also speak good english, ask for Amellia, she is always cheerful and her ever lovely smile will brighten your day.
  • 97%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Robert England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »