See other Austin properties

Drifter Jack's Hostel

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 83% from 28 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was the best hostel experience I had ever!! Waffles every morning, super friendly staff and a close distance to the UT Austin campus makes it perfect for incoming students and a perfect base to use to travel Austin!
  • 100%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • Thomas is the best! Shea is also very good and helpful. Very good and fun hostel staff. Lots of activities and friendly people around. Highly recommend
  • 83%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • Really kind staff and great athmosphere
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • The staff at drifter jacks were amazing. Extremely friendly and social. The facilities were very adequate and the bar crawl was a ton of fun. The hostel was only a bus ride away from 6th and the people in Austin in general were so much fun. Will be staying here in the future
  • 97%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Daniel USA
  • Would stay again and bring my sisters on our next cross country trip. Wonderful experience.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2015 lisa USA
  • Awesome hostel, very friendly staff!!
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Jaya India
  • My laptop was stolen. In the time I was there, I heard numerous people getting stuff stolen. Phones, tablets, laptops. It isn't safe here. I talked to the owner, and he lied and said it was the first time it had happened. When your stuff gets stolen, that is what he will say to you. All he cares about is money. So even the shadiest transient who hasn't showered in a week and has been smoking crack in a dumpster gets to stay. Food and beer gets stolen from the fridge. You've been warned!
  • 34%
  • 29 May 2015 James USA
  • No kitchen. If you cook, this place isn't for you. Stay somewhere else. No stove. Also, the sink is super small, so washing dishes is a pain. The waffle iron used to be non stick long ago, but those days are gone. So, the only food you can cook here is going to turn out crappy. They turned a normal room into a kitchen-like area. So there are extension cords everywhere and the power goes out a lot. Its a huge fire hazard, and if there is a fire people will die here! You've been warned!
  • 34%
  • 17 May 2015 James USA
  • A really special place, I felt right at home there! Can't wait to go back!!
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2015 Kimberly
  • We had a fantastic time! Staff was extremely helpful.
  • 91%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Caitlin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »