See other Austin properties

Drifter Jack's Hostel

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 88% from 29 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A couple of times the kitchen opened after 7 am which was inconvenient. The staff was friendly. Thanks for a good stay!
  • 83%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Lisa USA
  • The place is so ugly. And the people working there acts like if they were doing a favor to you. Not recommended at all.
  • 31%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Matías Argentina
  • Only issue that arose was a broken toilet handle that made one unable to use it for a bit, but it wasn't that big of a deal and they were good about letting people know they can use other bathrooms as well. Overall, a great stay!
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Bennett USA
  • It was a great place to stay, very close to downtown and all of the fun things to do. Tons of interesting people there, made some new friends. Good atmosphere and overall cleanliness was really good, and that had been my biggest worry. Had a great experience, will be going back for sure!
  • 100%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • I has a great time. All the bests things you can except from an hostel :).
  • 91%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Marie-eve
  • It would be nice to offer rooms for 2 people
  • 86%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Vanessa Germany
  • Good hostel but got really annoyed as our room was used for storage and we had staff barging in and out all morning, this even occurred before checkout times, don't mind having other guests doing their thing as that is expected but having staff walk in every 5 mins without knocking or regard to customers to put bedding back, take it out again, was really annoying when you are trying to sleep or potentially getting dressed.. Get a storage closet drifter jacks!!
  • 74%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Carly Australia
  • Nice place!
  • 80%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • This is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed at. It is clean, it brings in people from all over, it's inexpensive, has a central location. Every staff member I met was not only full of suggestions, smiles, but seemed like a general joy to be around if I had not been running around the city taking in as much as I could in my few days there. The staff was so kind that I received a phone call days after I left because they knew I was attending a wedding the weekend I visited and they found a suit!
  • 100%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Eric USA
  • When I first saw the place I was unsure but from the moment you step in you feel welcome. The dorms are never locked but never once did I fear for the safety of my belongings, its just like everyone has this unspoken agreement. The atmosphere of the place makes you feel at home instantly. As a solo traveller it's great to stay at a place where you can relax and meet new people and the staff are friendly..I would stay here again for sure.
  • 83%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »