See other Austin properties

Drifter Jack's Hostel

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 87% from 48 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, the guests were friendly as well as the staff! The rooms and facilities were functional, the location is right next to the university and 2 minutes walk away from a bus stop to take you downtown. Somewhat hard to find as it is back from the street and the signs are hard to spot. My only complaint would be the "included breakfast" that really isn't much of a breakfast at all... Unless you lilke plain toast...
  • 74%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location right next to the university, plenty of shops, bars and places to eat around. Really good vibe around the hostel, people and staff were friendly and laid back, creating a nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Austin
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Eoin Ireland
  • Nice murals on the walls! They give this place a lot of character. It's easy to reach by bus from downtown or the airport shuttle from the airport, and there are plenty of restaurants and cute shops in the neighborhood.
  • 91%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Pretty cool hostel. Location is alright 10 min by bus to the citycenter and there is also a bus at night to come back after some drinks and dancing! Free WIFI, great Staff and cheap. I like it!
  • 83%
  • 24 May 2014 Cornelius Germany
  • A larger common area would be nice but the space isn't there. The outside area could be a better used too. A couple of little maintainence things, like very loose door handles and the shower seemed to have lost it's regulator
  • 74%
  • 22 May 2014 Michael Australia
  • It was a great Hostel. It was clean and an easy place to meet people. At night we went to 9th street and partied. What else could you want.
  • 100%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were very nice and cool. I enjoyed the Hostel....It was a good spot for traveling and sightseeing, very close to everything.
  • 83%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Drifter's Jack's is perfectly located just off the University of Texas campus. Not hard to find. Just look for the Thai Noodle Restaurant on Hume and go around to the left to find the stairs up to the hostel. The rooms and beds aren't bad; only problem is that as many as 12 people share a single bathroom between rooms. Breakfast is fruit, PBJ, and various teas and coffee.
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was great!
  • 83%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A small hostel-they checked us in early.location is good and easy to get into town,lots of food nearby! no one locks doors and they let anyone into any room to use your bathroom,so nowhere to assume you have privacy for two mins! Comfy bed,slept well.breakfast was decent,good fruit.Lounge had space to hangout and store bags after check-out,but I heavily disagree with the crappy fishtanks they had going on- mean and unecessary.
  • 66%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »