See other Austin properties

Drifter Jack's Hostel

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 86% from 53 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were very nice and cool. I enjoyed the Hostel....It was a good spot for traveling and sightseeing, very close to everything.
  • 83%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Drifter's Jack's is perfectly located just off the University of Texas campus. Not hard to find. Just look for the Thai Noodle Restaurant on Hume and go around to the left to find the stairs up to the hostel. The rooms and beds aren't bad; only problem is that as many as 12 people share a single bathroom between rooms. Breakfast is fruit, PBJ, and various teas and coffee.
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was great!
  • 83%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A small hostel-they checked us in early.location is good and easy to get into town,lots of food nearby! no one locks doors and they let anyone into any room to use your bathroom,so nowhere to assume you have privacy for two mins! Comfy bed,slept well.breakfast was decent,good fruit.Lounge had space to hangout and store bags after check-out,but I heavily disagree with the crappy fishtanks they had going on- mean and unecessary.
  • 66%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The guys managing the hostel were very helpful and informative. It is a very convenient bus ride to the heart of Austin
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice things: Fairly large storage areas to lock up your stuff. I mean, large enough for most carry on luggage and even a bit beyond. (Height being the largest restriction but not even that bad...) Cheap. Bad things: It's loud during the day at least. I mean, really loud. There's fraternities and sororities everywhere around you with ridiculous sound systems. It gets freakishly hot in the room at night because the AC is bad. No blinds on windows to block out the light... Large noisy dumpsters.
  • 74%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A couple of times the kitchen opened after 7 am which was inconvenient. The staff was friendly. Thanks for a good stay!
  • 83%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Lisa USA
  • The place is so ugly. And the people working there acts like if they were doing a favor to you. Not recommended at all.
  • 31%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Matías Argentina
  • Lounge room is soooo tiny....
  • 80%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Only issue that arose was a broken toilet handle that made one unable to use it for a bit, but it wasn't that big of a deal and they were good about letting people know they can use other bathrooms as well. Overall, a great stay!
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Bennett USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »