See other Austin properties

Drifter Jack's Hostel

2602 Guadalupe St., Austin, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 86% from 53 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice place with awesome staff that really walked the extra mile to make our stay a great one!
  • 89%
  • 28 Nov 2013 John Sweden
  • Great place to stay, plenty of cool bars and places to eat nearby. Staff were super friendly and felt very safe!
  • 91%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Nash Australia
  • Awesome sociable atmosphere, and super friendly staff. I especially recommend this hostel to people travelling on their own because there is a great familly vibe and it was really easy to make friends with fellow travellers. All the staff are very caring and like to make sure you have a lot of fun whilst in Austin. Good luck for the future of Drifter Jacks, I wish you all the success.
  • 94%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • it was my first experience to live in the hostel. but overall its a good for value experience
  • 74%
  • 04 Nov 2013 irfan Pakistan
  • Great location and cool vibe. The staff were accommodating, helpful and just generally wanted to make sure everyone had a good time in Austin.
  • 97%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Russell New Zealand
  • Good location on UT campus. Food,entertainment, transportation right outside door. Minutes to 6th street, capital, river. Nice small hostel that had just opened when we stayed. Walls painted by great local artist. Staff helpful (activities in town, directions, times). Just opened so some things still in- process but nothing that hindered our wonderful stay in Austin.
  • 97%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Elaine USA
  • great stay and will visit again!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is a hidden gem! From the moment we arrived we felt immediately comfortable! Position was perfect, so much going on! Beds are so comfortable, bathrooms are clean! Would recommend this hostel for both independent travelers and those in a group. Flawless :-)
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Laura Australia
  • Drifter Jack's is a wonderful place! I can't believe I found this gem on the fourth day after it opened. Right off UT campus in one of the most happening parts of Austin, and a short/cheap bus ride from downtown, the value is incredible. Beautiful murals on almost every wall (soon to be every wall) and an ultra-comfy common room that never closes. The best part of DJ's though, is the staff. Andy was born to open a hostel, and goes truly above and beyond to help his guests b/c he genuinely cares.
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Joel USA
  • Pros: Great, helpful, nice, friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Cool art all over the walls. Good deal for the money. Good location. Beds are brand new and clean. Cons: Bathrooms and sink could be a little cleaner. Only one toilet and shower shared between 2 rooms of up to 6 people each. No stove for cooking.
  • 89%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Will USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »