See other Dublin properties

Dublin International (YHA)

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 72% from 18 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good breakfast provided free of charge, good wifi and clean facilities. Only issue was in the larger dorms there was a lack of powerpoints so for charging I had to go into the common rooms.
  • 89%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Jason Australia
  • Although the hostel is not in the center it is a 20 minute walk to the center. The hostel has great facilities. There are plenty of showers and toilets. Breakfast was average but hey breakfast included is great anyways. Great place to meet people. Many places to lounge around.
  • 86%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Decent hostel for the money. Very good security but nothing extraordinary at all. Very few outlets in the dorms, the staff wasn't very friendly or welcoming, the showers were a little bit of a pain because you have to keep pressing the button to keep water coming out, and there's no way to control the temperature. The bathrooms were definitely not kept up or clean. The bathroom on the 2nd floor near the dorm was out of hand towels, the floors were filthy, and the whole room smelled horrible.
  • 57%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • For 10 euros per night you can't expect any more. It was ok, its not the best one but for a couple of days its grand. Only one plug per room but you can share it xD
  • 80%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Belen Spain
  • There was no Electric plug in the room, an when wee charge an Electric toothbrush outside the room, it was stolen :-( ;-( ;-( I am happy, that it not was my mobil phone, that was stolen :-(
  • 77%
  • 05 Jul 2013 Gunnar Adolf Denmark
  • Didn't actually end up spending the night, although I checked in here when a flight I had booked was on a temporary hold and I was not sure if I needed to spend the night in Dublin. So I checked in during the afternoon, choosing this place as it was one of the few places with open rooms so last-minute. The place was fine. The building is a bit run-down, but the space is large. If you're ok staying in a hostel that isn't modern, shiny, and clean, and are ok with some dust and elbow grease,
  • 60%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Jennifer USA
  • WiFi was good, but otherwise I was very disappointed in the facilities. The showers had no temp. adjustment (I only had cold water), the bathrooms weren't very clean (nor very dirty, just average). The breakfast was good, but the hostel had an overall very "cheap" feeling - they charge to use their computers, they charge extra if you don't have a membership card, etc. The location is fine, ~10 min walk from the center. Compared to most hostels, this was disappointing for the price.
  • 49%
  • 01 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Bathrooms were filthy and the heater in dorm room was busted so it was suffocating! The shower room for our floor was entirely out of order so we had to double up with the lower floor. You also have to be skilled in the art of the one handed scrubbing as the shower wouldn't run unless the button (no temperature regulating knobs here) was continuously pressed! THE WIFI IS NEXT TO NONEXISTENT! Even in the designated areas we could barely manage an Internet connection!
  • 51%
  • 17 May 2013 Elizabeth USA
  • A nice hostel to go to, close to the city centre, you get a good breakfast, and it also has defintelly some atmosphere. I liked to stay there.
  • 89%
  • 16 May 2013 Susanne Germany
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, look forward to coming back.
  • 97%
  • 25 Apr 2013 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »