See other Dublin properties

Dublin International (YHA)

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 67% from 25 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 64%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There was a bad smell at showers and toilet, but the staff was friendly and breakfast was good. I would say it is a nice place and not expensive.
  • 63%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Leonid Israel
  • The place is huge and cheap but the area where it is located is rather dodgy. I was in a 8 bed room and we had ONE powerpoint in the whole room. I was in this hostel two years ago and they had the same problem. The rooms do not have enough powerpoints. This is VERY unconvenient. Also one of the shower rooms for men on the second floor has hot water issues.Also there's WIFI issues. When the hostel is packed, you will have trouble connecting. I am not coming back to this place.
  • 60%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • Everything is fairly nice there. I think I was unlucky for two nights in a row since I've been woken up by a crazy guy hitting my feet with his blanket thinking I was snoring but it was the guy below me. Everything is clean and nice but they're quite far from the city center. There's kinda a grocery store next to the building though so it makes up for it.
  • 91%
  • 05 Aug 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • On both nights there was a lot of noise from the street otherwise I was very pleased with my stay.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jun 2016 DEREK England
  • 20%
  • 16 Jun 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The hostel is about 30 mins' walk from the touristic centre of Dublin, definitely the farthest in the City. It is also in a notoriously socially-deprived area, which is immediately apparent from the shabby buildings and occasionally intimidating locals. Duvet covers aren't changes and you are expected to sleep between two bedsheets they give you. But almost everyone I saw in the four rooms I stayed in slept directly under the duvet, meaning only a sheet separates you from an unclean duvet.
  • 46%
  • 04 Jun 2016 Andrew Ireland
  • Many lookers didn't work properly and there were not as many number of lookers as beds in some rooms
  • 66%
  • 13 May 2016 Diego Angel Spain
  • Especially my compliments to the staff! The hostel itself might be a 20 minute walk away from the city center, but that only means that it is more peaceful at night, and it is still close to all sorts of tourist attractions.
  • 80%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Lisa Netherlands
  • The staff was great, the room was clean and cosy. The women bathroom though was very cold, also no shelves or hooks for hanging your things. Breakfast was good. I think price is too high for what you get.
  • 80%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Manca Slovenia
  • I was supposed to be in a double room but i was placed in a 4 beds room. The hostel was invaded by some weird people that were constantly drunk and were always occupying the kitchen. The so called "continental breakfast" was a daily enjoyment of bread, butter and jam.
  • 37%
  • 23 Dec 2015 mihai Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »