See other Dublin properties

Dublin International (YHA)

61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 72% from 15 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Situated in a less than nice neighbourhood, but that the least of your worries. This hostel is in a severe need of a refresh. Apart from the catering staff the staff were less than welcoming/friendly. Also they seemed to enjoy listening to loud intimidating gangster music at 3.30am. The bathrooms stunk to high heaven and were extremely dirty. Maybe around 15-20 years old? The only benefits to this place was that it’s cheap and they booked me a shuttle to the airport
  • 54%
  • 09 Oct 2017 Anonymous England
  • Beautiful place in an old church. 15 mn walk to the twon center. Nice breakfast.
  • 100%
  • 18 Aug 2017 Anonymous France
  • This was my last visit to this terrible place , its the cheapest bed at the weekend but that no longer matters. The problem is you always had a few decent staff members and a few abusive ones who belong in jail, the little skinny latin volunteer who terrorised me at 10.30 because i woke up late trying to act tough but was too afraid to say his name ,please purge your staff of these people and the terrible wifi and overall institutional mood/many other problems , sorry but enough thank you.
  • 20%
  • 09 Jun 2017 Anonymous Canada
  • Very friendly and helpful stuff.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope that should you return to Dublin that we can look after you again. Take care, Safe and Happy travels to you, Misty Dublin International Hostel

  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2017 Anonymous Austria
  • The yha have always been those hostels you avoid unless you have no choice, this place is typical , bad neighbourhood , thin mattress/pillows and the usual institutional -vibe, the housekeeping volunteers were okay but the reception staff were the most unhappy unproductive workers i have ever seen , one or two were okay but one clueless guy with a trainspotting accent did not even believe there was a luggage room ( i had to show him) really the worst place and segragated dorms is always bad.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are sorry that your stay wasn't all it could be. We have a very international mix of guests and staff which makes it a very exciting place to work in, but perhaps on the day that you stayed this vibe was just not around. (Everyone has their off days as we are only human) On the issues regarding the pillow or mattress, did you come to the reception to give us an opportunity to rectify? With regards to the area we are in, we have neighbours who look out for our guests and the area still retains the values of a community. Regards Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel

  • 20%
  • 19 Nov 2016 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »