See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 89% from 166 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff at reception were highly efficient and despite pressure always ready to nasser and help. John, attenting to the Breakfast session had a particularly joyous way to loosen up the athmosphere in the dining lounge.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Peter Germany
  • acceptable hostel facilities. nice staff. the jamaican staff guy was really helpful showing me directions.
  • 71%
  • 28 Jun 2014 lukas Germany
  • the employee is warmth. the environment is very good.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2014 kun China
  • Perfect. I stayed for about a week, staff is constantly circulating to keep the place clean and look after all the tenants. At no time did I (24/M) feel unsafe or uncomfortable, although I'd bring a padlock to lock away valuables in the lockers during the day. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Kitchen functional with all lots of crockery and cutlery to use.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Rude Host.
  • 43%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very cozy and the staff were so friendly, it was a pleasure to stay there!
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Aiga Latvia
  • Upon arrival, was initially put off by the no shoe policy. But instantly appreciated it because of the cleanliness and the welcoming common area with the endless amount of channels on the TV. Did not care for an overtly flirtatious and argumentative, 19 year old employee, who hit on every female who walked in. His attempts at hospitality quickly crossed the line of professionalism. Lack of paper towels and trash cans in bathrooms was inconvenient. Also, couldn't eat anywhere except for kitchen.
  • 71%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a very comfortable set up and I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very friendly, but you also had your own space. Plus - you cannot beat the amazing pancakes in the morning!!!!!
  • 97%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Crystal USA
  • Not a bad place except for 2 things: one of staff members kept hitting on every female guest he could see and went way beyond what was professional; the place is relatively far from the closest subway stop (10 + minutes walk). I wouldn't want to stay there if I was a woman based on the staff but it's nice that they had a free bbq for everyone on sunday on their deck.
  • 71%
  • 15 Jun 2014 ioan USA
  • Staff are very strict on rules, which felt a bit overbearing at times. They close down the patio and stop consumption of alcohol at 10pm. They sniff water bottles after 10pm to make sure it isn't alcohol, even if you're just quietly on your computer, by yourself, late at night. It was also annoying to have to go up three flights of stairs every time I wanted to have a snack (no eating outside the kitchen/deck on the top floor).
  • 57%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »