See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 87% from 203 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A big shout out to A-Z and everyone who was a part of this hostel on 27 July, 2015. It was my birthday and I had no special plans to celebrate it except going out alone. A-Z took us all and bOre everything. I am still astounded how nice one could actually get. We were a group of 15-20 people and had a great time. The rooms were clean, 24/7 security through cameras, level headed and civilized people, and everything you could possibly ask for. It's a hotel only with the benefits of friends.
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Jyotirg India
  • My first hostel stay ever, and it was incredible! Memories to last a life time and great connections with interesting travellers from all over the world. I have never got a warmer home-like welcome than this. Morning pancakes, BBQ, going out with a group of 20 to a near by bar. The whitehouse and all attractions walking distance away. You will be a fool not to book this one.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The 'no shoes' policy was not welcomed, especially as it is summer and no real reason shoes shouldn't be allowed. Bit worrying around the kitchen and on the rooftop etc. Otherwise it was great!
  • 80%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Elizabeth Australia
  • Just a perfect place to stay. Staff is really nice, always open to help you. I arrived Sunday and there was a huge BBQ in the evening, then the manager brought us to an amazing club. The manager is a really good dancer, and his friend a really good chief ! Just loved this place, the staff and all people I met there ! Merciiiii
  • 100%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Diane France
  • I was there only for one night, and I was my first experience staying in a hostel in many years. I was very glad to find out that the location was near perfect, the staff was extremely kind and helpful, and they really made me feel comfortable. I would definitely come back!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Beds were a bit squeaky, but everything else was perfect.
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The plugs for charging is not enough. There are 8 of them but only 2 work and those which don't work are hard to reach like you have to go under the bed to use it and realise that those cant be use. (Btw why there 8 plugs in 10 mix dorm room? I dont get it) please do something!
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Prailida Thailand
  • I really like the owner.
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • I am a teacher with three kids and went to DC for a teaching seminar for 7 days. I had a budget and decided to stay in the hostel. I was very nervous at first because it has been awhile since I have been in a hostel. I remember them being loud and dirty. This was not the case with DUO. It was very clean, never had to wait for a shower or bathroom and it was quiet. I was in the 12 bed dorm and it was quiet. There was a nice roof top and the bbq was nice they hosted on Sunday. 4 stars!
  • 94%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Callen USA
  • Everything about the stay was amazing. We got a friendly tour from the staff when we arrived and I was amazed to see how clean everything was! The FREE pancake breakfast and coffee were an amazing start to our day. We met so many amazingly friendly 20- and 30-somethings, it was perfect! It was truly an amazing place to meet people and explore DC with them. I never felt unsafe or dirty in Duo Housing. The showers were cleaner and nicer than any hotel I've ever stayed at!! Amazing place to stay!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Noelle USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »