See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 88% from 188 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good hostel close to the National Mall, U St and Dupont St. Staff were friendly as well. On the minus side... you can only drink until 10pm and the weekend I as there most travelers didn't go out. So if you are into the museums and monuments and just need a place to sleep then you will love this place. If you want to see museums and party you are better off going to NYC or Chicago. Overall good hostel. Parking sucks... you will have to pay for private garage and that could be easily $20
  • 83%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Living room is very comfortable with big TV and Netflix, open 24 hours. Staff is young and talkative, friendly, helpful. Upstairs there is another comfy living room with couches for late-night hang-outs or chatting over free coffee and pancakes in the morning. There's also a really wonderful roof-top patio that you can hang out on, attached to the kitchen. Rules are no alcohol in hostel after 10pm. Also, there was a lot of hallway light in dorms while sleeping. But overall, felt like home quick
  • 94%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Amy USA
  • Very friendly atmosphere! Tasty pancakes for breakfast and even a free barbecue on Sundays!
  • 100%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Markus Germany
  • I was lucky to be there for thanksgiving and the staff put on a massive meal, also they make Pancakes every morning and have bbq's each sunday. Great location, Everything close by.
  • 94%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Nathan Australia
  • Very nice place! One of the best hostels in the us.. I had a greaaaaat thanksgiving there.
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Zhan China
  • Location is really good: the hostel has a nice connection with all parts of DC. Security is high (locks, codes to enter the hostel, etc.) - so no random people around. The big minus: my bed sheets seemed to be stale. The comforter even smelled like it was washed centuries ago. I know that it is not a 5 star hotel, but, common guys, that's unserious.
  • 63%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous Belarus
  • Best staff ever.
  • 100%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Uri Mexico
  • Some aspects that could use improvement: Rooms can be too hot some times in the night. It is too dark in some rooms without windows.
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • the matres was horrible i realy didn't like it. one shower only have boiling water, one day the fire alarm went on with no fire, it selt smoky but there was no explanation, the computers were extreemly slow. The sucurity great, also the atmosphere and the staff great. It was always clean, and the best part is that I made some very cool friends, and that you will neve have on a hotel.
  • 89%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • OK, just complicated to find the way going between room and kitchen.
  • 77%
  • 06 Nov 2014 Hung Vietnam
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »