See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 89% from 169 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You need a credit card to pay for your stay! Make sure that you have enough money on your credit card. Cash will be not accepted at all.
  • 74%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Winfried Germany
  • Breakfast is really good. And the BBQ on sunday is just awesome. Marvin is the master of BBQ :)
  • 86%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Alexander Germany
  • All in all, a very nice place. Extremely convenient, very friendly staff, good soundproofing, clean, and generally courteous and quiet roommates. Needs a little fixing up: I innocently tried to open a window, and it crashed down: no counterweights at all. The night staff person was very competent at restoring it, but really.....
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Thought it was a bit strange having a bank window kind of arrangement for when you are checking in, and found signing off on house rules a bit overkill, HOWEVER staff were lovely and friendly and even carried my bag to my room for me. Recommended good restaurant and walking routes also. Thanks!
  • 83%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Great location, awesome pancakes for breakfast, and the most fantastic people you meet there!!! Definitely recommend!
  • 100%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Mykhaylo USA
  • Duo Housing DC has made some upgrades and renovations (i.e. new beds, flooring, etc.) since I last stayed at their facility making a good environment even better. However, the thing that attracted me to Duo Housing DC – the cost – is still about the same. Location, quality of service, friendly employees, comfort, cleanliness, and of course PRICE make Duo Housing DC the best hostel in Washington, DC – PERIOD! I recommend highly, you won’t be disappointed.
  • 97%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great stay that I extended for another week. Wish I could have extended it further
  • 100%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I was incredibly impressed by my experience at DUO Housing, the staff was exceedingly friendly and cordial, the hostel itself feels very welcoming, and the overall atmosphere made my entire group feel at home. We were also very impressed by the focus on international awareness, with the map of all the places peoples are from, the money posted on the wall, and the pancakes in the morning were a really nice touch. This is easily the best experience I have ever had with a Hostel in the United State
  • 97%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Conor
  • Very clean, friendly, respectful environment
  • 100%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The Duo Hostels is definitely the best, cheapest place to spend a couple of days, or even a week in Washington ! The staff is so nice and welcoming that you feel at home after only a few minutes. And even if it seems weird to take the shoes off the first time, the place is very clean thanks to that, nothing negative to say about it !
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Simon France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »