See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 88% from 207 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Beds were a bit squeaky, but everything else was perfect.
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The plugs for charging is not enough. There are 8 of them but only 2 work and those which don't work are hard to reach like you have to go under the bed to use it and realise that those cant be use. (Btw why there 8 plugs in 10 mix dorm room? I dont get it) please do something!
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Prailida Thailand
  • I really like the owner.
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • I am a teacher with three kids and went to DC for a teaching seminar for 7 days. I had a budget and decided to stay in the hostel. I was very nervous at first because it has been awhile since I have been in a hostel. I remember them being loud and dirty. This was not the case with DUO. It was very clean, never had to wait for a shower or bathroom and it was quiet. I was in the 12 bed dorm and it was quiet. There was a nice roof top and the bbq was nice they hosted on Sunday. 4 stars!
  • 94%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Callen USA
  • Everything about the stay was amazing. We got a friendly tour from the staff when we arrived and I was amazed to see how clean everything was! The FREE pancake breakfast and coffee were an amazing start to our day. We met so many amazingly friendly 20- and 30-somethings, it was perfect! It was truly an amazing place to meet people and explore DC with them. I never felt unsafe or dirty in Duo Housing. The showers were cleaner and nicer than any hotel I've ever stayed at!! Amazing place to stay!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Noelle USA
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel, so I was a bit nervous. However, it was such an awesome experience. All of the guests and staff were so friendly, it was way more enjoyable than staying in a hotel. I felt safe, and I felt as if the place was very clean. They offered free pancakes every morning, which is so above and beyond based on the price I was paying. I would definitely stay again, and will recommend Duo Housing for sure.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Amanda USA
  • Quality of stay is dependant on assigned room. Was unlucky in being assigned a bunk on the third floor of the secondary house. Which meant getting a WiFi signal to send messages home entailed sitting on the stairs of the second floor or descend all three flights of stairs. The third floor also had a blackout and when I asked staff for help the guy finished my sentence so it must be common. Hostel was very clean and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, excellent location, helpful staff, great atmosphere
  • 91%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Oliver Australia
  • Amazing stay you guys couldnt have been any better!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2015 georgia Australia
  • Everything was great, the neighborhood can be a bit dicey at night otherwise I would recommend it for the value, staff, and the lobby lounge is great, cable dvds, internet, free WiFi. A+.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Colin USA
  • the location was good. very clean, and save area. the only thing in that hostel, they have many rules, i found it cool. but if you make the rules you have to be the first to respect it. why i am saying it? the breakfast times is until 10 am. thats mean even i get up by 09h30am . and as long as i should be under the restricted time. i still deserve the breakfast.i paid for it right ?. and your sorry wasnt welcomed.
  • 77%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Leonard Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »