See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 89% from 168 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was pretty much ok. But I stayed at very bad room, no ventilation and very small. TOO MANY RULES! It sucked! You can only drink until 10pm. The staff is good tough. Points to the dog Papai!
  • 66%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • the shower was so nice ! I have never taken a shower like that at another hostel lol
  • 94%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Tomonori Japan
  • Very nice and helpful staff! Also, the Hostel is so cozy and the atmosphere's great. 5-10 minutes to walk to the next Metro station. Oh, and they make you pancakes for breakfast, and you can get coffee and tea. We had an awesome time and if I ever come to Washington again I'll definitely stay there again!
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Alina Germany
  • Staff were nice but facility and location were terrible. Water leaks from the floor, strange sound came from the ceiling....... and location was very incomvenient! there was no bus stop near the hostel and metro was too far. I don't know why this hostel gained high rate in the Washington D.C. If I visit Washington DC again, I will NEVER stay in the DUO housing.
  • 43%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • the bedroom need to be improved. But the BBQ is excellent. Also thanks the friendly staff.
  • 80%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • My stay at Duo Hostel was excellent. The staff was definitely the best part: the managers checked up on me everyday to make sure I was comfortable, Lin was always the first person I came to when I had questions about the hostel/DC, LaShawn helped me grocery shop (and was always great company), Nadia gave me great directions to places and was super friendly, Nick was always available for help, Marvin made excellent barbecue and conversation, and Mike always made me laugh and had great advice!
  • 100%
  • 08 Dec 2013 Kanoko USA
  • It's a beautiful place, ideal to take a short or long vacation in Washington DC. My friend and I we really enjoyed our stance in that place. When we got back to our city we shared our experiences with our friends and absolutely we recommended to them with no doubt.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Honestly the best hostel I've stayed in. Staff were really lovely and the complimentary breakfast topped it all off! Location couldn't have been better.
  • 100%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Jessica England
  • Great staff... very helpful in giving directions, open, talkative and incredibly kind. They make pancakes in the morning and had organized a thanksgiving dinner for the guests. The only thing that would have been nice is parking, or at least some sort of savings deal with the adjacent parking lot. Otherwise it is an absolutely great hostel.
  • 97%
  • 26 Nov 2013 Nicola Italy
  • Staff was incredibly friendly! Nice hostel!
  • 94%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »