See other Washington DC properties

Duo Housing DC

1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 87% from 188 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Upon arrival, was initially put off by the no shoe policy. But instantly appreciated it because of the cleanliness and the welcoming common area with the endless amount of channels on the TV. Did not care for an overtly flirtatious and argumentative, 19 year old employee, who hit on every female who walked in. His attempts at hospitality quickly crossed the line of professionalism. Lack of paper towels and trash cans in bathrooms was inconvenient. Also, couldn't eat anywhere except for kitchen.
  • 71%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a very comfortable set up and I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very friendly, but you also had your own space. Plus - you cannot beat the amazing pancakes in the morning!!!!!
  • 97%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Crystal USA
  • Not a bad place except for 2 things: one of staff members kept hitting on every female guest he could see and went way beyond what was professional; the place is relatively far from the closest subway stop (10 + minutes walk). I wouldn't want to stay there if I was a woman based on the staff but it's nice that they had a free bbq for everyone on sunday on their deck.
  • 71%
  • 15 Jun 2014 ioan USA
  • Staff are very strict on rules, which felt a bit overbearing at times. They close down the patio and stop consumption of alcohol at 10pm. They sniff water bottles after 10pm to make sure it isn't alcohol, even if you're just quietly on your computer, by yourself, late at night. It was also annoying to have to go up three flights of stairs every time I wanted to have a snack (no eating outside the kitchen/deck on the top floor).
  • 57%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is absolutely amazing. The staff is very good and always ready to help. The location is very close to the points of interest in DC, making it a great choice!
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Good experience. Great value for the money. Awesome staff. Perfect location
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I'd been pased just two nigths, and everything was very nice, II would come back the next chance to be in WDC
  • 97%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Marta Argentina
  • I enjoyed my stay and the fact that the staff was friendly, the location interesting, the place very clean, and the common spaces confortable. Thank you.
  • 94%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Hocine France
  • I enjoyed my stay at this relatively quiet hostel for a few days. The location is somewhat far from the metro but easy walking distance. There is a grocery store literally right next door which is nice. The hostel is in an old multi-story walk up house, and our dorm was in the basement. There is a patio and common areas on the upper floors and everybody there was pretty friendly. I didn't take advantage of the free pancakes in the morning as they were only available until 9:30 am.
  • 80%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • my stay was wonderful
  • 100%
  • 25 May 2014 OMARO Jamaica
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »